MONDAY – May 21

Hello North House!!!! I hope you all had an amazing weekend, especially those who attended prom! T’was very lit. This weeks blog assignment is based on my senior topic (the psychology of relationships). Please watch the video and answer the prompt.

Video: https://youtu.be/Tvne48F0Eqw

List of the questions: https://mobile.nytimes.com/2015/01/11/fashion/no-37-big-wedding-or-small.html

Prompt: Do you believe this process of asking each other these questions actually allows people to fall in love with not only people they know but also complete strangers?

DAYS TILL GRADUATION: 22 \(^-^)/

 

23 Comments

  1. While watching the video, the interactions between Cam and Emily felt very superficial and surface-level. In theory the questions will cause strangers to fall in love, but all that is a matter of standard. How well someone gets along with a stranger at first contact is all a matter of standard, and desire. My views on love, not unlike my views on many things, are nihilistic in nature. I believe there is little more to love than people swooning over their reflections in one another’s eyes. In most cases, two humans loving each other will be nothing more than flesh and craving, people seeking comfort, seeking acceptance. That said, I am no stranger to love myself. I have said “I love you” from the bottom of my heart and I have said “I love you” while lying through my teeth. And while I cannot vouch for the effectiveness of asking any of the questions in the video, coincidentally, I can offer a personal anecdote from not too ago, about looking into the eyes of another for a set amount of time. Although there had already been very good chemistry between the two of us, gazing into the eyes of a lover has shown incredible results. Simply put, I can firmly disagree with the statement from the article, “Two minutes is just enough to be terrified.” For me, two minutes is not long enough! Perhaps this practice breaks past superficiality, and lets one gaze into another’s soul, or perhaps one’s own reflection comes into focus and one falls in love with themselves this way. Either way, there is something much deeper to peering into the eyes of a significant other.

  2. In AsapSCIENCE’s video, “36 Questions That Make Strangers Fall In Love (The LAB)” Mitch Moffit and Greg Brown explain that there are a set list of questions out in the world that could make you fall in love with a stranger. There was a study done on this in the past and it increased the likelihood of them falling in love. They decided to test and try this experiment on two complete strangers, Cam and Emily. Although it seemed a little cringey and awkward at first, it does seem like they had some chemistry towards the end. At first, I thought it was little silly that just asking a bunch of questions to a complete stranger and vice versa would automatically make you fall in love, but I soon realized that is pretty much the beginning of the whole process or at least from my own view on love. Can you really fall in love with someone without getting to know them first? As Collin E. mentioned, “In most cases, two humans loving each other will be nothing more than flesh and craving, people seeking comfort, seeking acceptance.” and I would agree since being in relationship does require acceptance and companionship of someone else. The concept of falling in love is different for everyone. One person could fall in love with someone they disliked for all their life, another could be purely just physical attraction, someone else could fall in love with a complete stranger for simply just holding the door for them, and others just fall over time. I don’t think the process of asking random questions is for everyone, but I do think it opens the door in allowing two complete strangers to fall in love. The experiment being performed is similar to a couple going on a first date since in both scenarios they are just getting to know each other. In most cases, I feel that the answers are what either make or break the progress from moving any further, but clearly for Cam and Emily it worked out. So yes, I do believe this process can possibly make strangers fall in love, maybe not in that moment, but eventually over time.

  3. According to the video, “36 Questions That Make Strangers Fall In Love (The LAB),” by AsapSCIENCE, the notion of “falling in love” through a series of questions proved somewhat true. Though the questions were designed to create a sense of love among two strangers, it merely attracted them to one another but initiated a pleasant friendship and possible prospective relationship. Hence, inquiring multiple questions can, initially, lead to attraction, but not necessarily love.

    Love is complex. Like Collin mentioned, “…there is little more to love than people swooning over their reflections in one another’s eyes.” To fall in love requires time. The cliché “Love at first sight” is another way of implying momentary experiences. Moreover, sudden sexual relationships only indicate satisfaction but never true affection. For that reason, to fall in love also suggests a great friendship. One must know his potential significant other; he must know her strengths and weaknesses and stand together in unity. Only then shall sincere love develop and prevail in all circumstances.

  4. I believe the questions taken for this video are a bit out of context. I do not believe that the authors of the questions intended or believed simply asking these questions will instantly create amorous feelings. Rather, I believe these questions were part of a study that questioned what are the MOST COMMON things people in a relationship say over a PERIOD OF TIME. So first off the preposition that asking these questions will create love is non-sense.However, there is accurate research backing up the claim that individuals feel closer if they reveal intrusive information about themselves.

    Despite this, there is simply no way love can simply erupt out of thin air-so to speak. Evolutionarily, love is designed to keep two partners together for enough time to ensure the life of their offspring. I believe it takes true time to build this trust from an evolutionary perspective between both people. 36 questions in 5 minutes just ain’t’ gonna cut it man. As benjamin says, “For that reason, to fall in love also suggests a great friendship..”

  5. When watching this video I found the interactions between Emily and Cam very fake and uncomfortable. In theory the questions were supposed to make the two fall in love. However my views on love are more complex than asking each other these questions. I like how colline puts it “In most cases, two humans loving each other will be nothing more than flesh and craving, people seeking comfort, seeking acceptance.” I have said i love you to family and close friends from the bottom of my heart.

    I find that asking of these questions are not going to cause strangers to fall in love. They might cause the strangers to find out they have stuff in common and lead to dates and dating and maybe love eventually. However I don’t believe these questions would make people fall in love right away. I believe love is more complicated than a couple questions.

  6. “36 Questions That Make Strangers Fall In Love (The LAB)”, by ASAPscience exemplifies an interaction which is said to lead to love. Love is a chemical process that occurs between two able humans, it is an intricate interaction of hormones and communication. When one views a contending mate their first senses are hormonal, if you’ve never felt the sensation of lust then you just have to pay attention next time. Once you’ve picked up on those internal feelings the next phase occurs, a test of attributes. Mates have to observe and prod the minds of each other, an exploration of one’s mentality and one’s capabilities. Whether or not these things are compatible depends all on the individual, but understanding a person and trusting them to the point of comfortability is essential for love.

    These questions are a great medium for two potential mates to inquire and learn about the other, that along with the four minutes of pure observation and hormonal interaction. This is a pretty good way to determine whether or not someone is worth spending time on. But I agree with Collin when he says, “In most cases, two humans loving each other will be nothing more than flesh and craving, people seeking comfort, seeking acceptance.” Lust and love is hard to differentiate, because in the end they have the same result which is procreation. Procreation is the name of the game, whether it be for leisure pleasure or sacred reproduction. Procreation makes the world go ‘round, in order to progress our species into the future love must exist. No matter your perspectives of love, sitting, speaking, and silently sitting with someone is often a dependable routine.

  7. In the video, “36 Questions That Make Strangers Fall In Love (The LAB),” it shows an example of a well known science experiment where two people attempt to answer all thirty-six questions honestly while trying to get to know each other and fall in love. This experiment was posted by The New York Times, because it is so well known and everybody wants to talk about this topic and naturally want the special formula to love and they want to love, love. Because of this, many people in general want to believe that this social experiment will work and is the missing piece they’ve been looking for all along, but in reality everyone who tries the experiment is willing to open up and genuinely want it to work, so they’ll be honest and vulnerable in the process. Like Cam talked about in the video, how he said that they talked about things that you wouldn’t normally talk about on a first date or maybe ever. Because of this vulnerability in the very beginning, both partners feel close and feel an attachment that makes them instantly close which is the success that everyone sees, but we don’t know if any of these experiments and relationships lasted, and long after this experiment it all comes back to normal relationships and it just depends on who the people are inside. Maybe the experiment works short term and instantly, but it’s the people who decide if it will last. I also agree with Jaydalynn when she stated, “I feel that the answers are what either make or break the progress from moving any further.” It is possible that this experiment could lead people to fall in love, but it is because they were ready and willing and put in the effort to be vulnerable. Many times people will date others who are in different places in their lives and will never potentially ever be vulnerable. The experiment is better for couples who know they’ll be together long term because it will further deepen their relationship and it will bring them closer.

  8. “AsapScience” performed an interesting experiment on relationships. Could having two people asking personal questions lead total strangers into falling in love? Well the video seemed to make the audience hope that. In the close to six-minute video the audience was introduced to the host, the couple, their interaction during the experiment, and a dramatic kiss at the end signaling success. However, there is too much scientific error in the experiment and video for me to accept that this is nothing more than entertainment.
     
    While introducing the experiment “AsapScience” host Greg clarifies that, “that just one experiment could not prove this theory true.” On that note, these questions seem western culture specific. I could not help but wonder if this experiment would work let’s say in Sao Paulo or Amman. For example, both subjects were asked, “Do you have a hunch about how you will die?” Emily referred to her high school years, when her hormones were a little wack. If I was living in a dangerous area of a country and asked on a date if I knew how I was going to die, I would probably get up and leave.
     
    How can you fall in love in five minutes? I do not believe that is the way love operates and that those who do find themselves biting their tale wondering what went wrong. Like Romel says, “it takes true time to build this trust …” I do not know much about love, but I do not believe a scientific approach alone makes it happen.

  9. The moment I saw the title of the video I thought it was just click bait after watching the video I found myself criticizing it more than believing anything that was said. Immediately the two men at the beginning said these questions would increase the “likelihood that they would fall in love” keyword “likelihood.” Of course, this is misleading because the title of the video is “36 Questions That Make Strangers Fall In Love (The LAB)” which to be fair they need a compelling title to get views. To answer the prompt no I do not believe that asking these questions to someone I know or a stranger will get them to fall in love with me or even the other way around. Being only 17 or 18 I don’t believe any of us really know what love is to love another person we may have an idea right now but that could easily change in a couple years. As of now, I can say that no amount of questions will make me fall in love with another person to me the time you spend with someone and talking and getting to know them is more important. Falling in love is a process and it can be a lengthy one at that but if you’re patient it will happen. Collin brought a great point in his post when he said: “I believe there is little more to love than people swooning over their reflections in one another’s eyes.”

  10. When first watching the video, I was very skeptical on what I was watching. I found it strange, wondering how 36 questions can make strangers fall in love. After watching the video, I would have to agree with Nick when he says, “How can you fall in love in 5 minutes.” Maybe falling in love in five minutes is possible but how the experiment played out, I believe the 36 questions experiment is not true.
    To answer the prompt, I do not believe that asking a stranger random 36 questions will create love between two people. With not really understanding what love is, I believe that this a weak experiment that needs to be improved. The thing I did not like is when they told the two subjects what the experiment was. If the two subjects were unaware of the experiment, I believe there would of been a better result in the experiment. I mean at one point one of the subjects said,” I like your face, its a nice face.” Having a conversation can be weird with a stranger at first but if someone ask me about my hunch on how I think I’m going to die, I would be kind of freak out. Maybe when I have a crush on someone, I will ask them these questions so they can fall for me.

  11. Well now it is 11 more school days till graduation Janina… My goodness… Anyway, after watching this video, I don’t believe it is the questions that allows the them to fall in love but it is the excitement. I’ve heard Janina talk about her topic a few times and what I get out of it is that it is the chemical reaction due to the excitement one gets when put in a situation like that. I believed it is only that because once that “honeymoon” state disappears, couples usually began to have problems. That doesn’t mean that they will break up or anything, it just means the challenge of wither or not they want to stay with each other presents itself. If I were put in a situation like this, of course excitement would drive the gitty/giggly emotions the women had while asking the question, after getting comfortable, the attraction between the two grew since they were in a way force to talk to each other. It also helps that those two people were attractive people. I also agree with Kenny when he said if the two didn’t know what the experiment was, then they would have gotten a better result.

  12. Asking 36 indiscriminate questions shouldn’t make a person fall in love. This so called “science” experiment seems to be aimed for the lonely and hormonal viewers, boys and girls alike, not to mention the title of the video. I do, however, believe this video does lead to social likeability within two beings; to know someone better. The answers are generic and can be answered with a sentence or two, at least that’s what I would do. For one thing, being monitored by your answers would also be a factor for influencing behavior. Great minds think alike and YouTube has my back. This one comment on the video displays, “A fair effective study doesn’t tell people the objective of the experiment beforehand- it definitely has an effect on the results.” I’m sure this experiment isn’t the best, but nonetheless, I still hold true that no one can be inclined to affection by being asked meek questions. Isaac nailed it right on the spot when he replied, “Being only 17 or 18 I don’t believe any of us really know what love is to love another person we may have an idea right now but that could easily change in a couple years.” How can someone know something so complicated when they hardly know how to drive? I’m sorry in advance if I appear aggressive but in no way, am I lambasting Janina’s Capstone topic but there’s much to learn in this changing world and graduation is just the stepping stone. How in God’s green earth does someone become charmed over get-to-know-you questions? It doesn’t reason with me.

  13. The YouTube video entitled “36 Questions That Make Strangers Fall In Love (The LAB)” uploaded by AsapSCIENCE displays two strangers asking each other a series of 36 questions. Cam and Emily are the two strangers that are being put to the test by Mitch Moffit and Greg Brown; in order to discover whether these 36 questions will make strangers fall in love. After watching this video I had the same opinion as Colin when he stated, “Although it seemed a little cringey and awkward at first, it does seem like they had some chemistry towards the end.“ The beginning of this video was definitely cringey to watch but towards the end I did see them connecting, and developing a bit of chemistry. They have a great possibility of developing a strong friendship if things do not work out romantically. I do not believe in “love at first sight”; therefore, it is difficult for me to believe that these 36 questions could make someone fall in love so quickly. Although I do not believe in this process it does not mean that it is impossible; I think it just depends on the person. This is why I agree with Jaydalynn when she stated, “The concept of falling in love is different for everyone.”

  14. I believe these questions are simply something you would ask someone else as a first meeting. I believe that love is more of a connection within a person with another person. To know someone and their interests do take some time to find out. So asking the same questions as the video probably won’t work for everyone. Like Benjamin said, “To fall in love requires time. The cliché “Love at first sight” is another way of implying momentary experiences.” I feel like throughout the video since the two people got along, there was some sort of “click” between them, but not necessarily “love”. In general, the experiment had flaws and isn’t very reliable since it was only tested in one pair. So I do not believe this would work with strangers or even with people we might know.

  15. In response to the Youtube video called, “36 Questions That Make Strangers Fall in Love” I do not believe that there is a set exchange of words between any two people that will make them fall in love. A lot of the questions asked in the video between the two test subjects, Cam and Emily, are very unordinary questions that go beyond small talk that people who just met each other typically engage in. I do acknowledge the fact that towards the end of the questions Cam and Emily did seem to have a flirtatious connection, but I don’t think that this connection entails having real love for each other and a romantic future together. In my opinion, you can’t fall in love with a person in just one sitting; love takes time, and the ways to express it develop over time. I am not a believer in the concept of love at first sight, and this video did not prove otherwise to me. Furthermore, this experiment was, like Karen mentioned, flaw-filled and unreliable.

  16. The video “36 Questions That Make Strangers Fall In Love” by AsapSCIENCE tests whether people can grow a romantic connection with each other after asking and answering a set of thirty six questions. Personally, I do not believe in this theory. While yes, answering personal and deep questions can get people well acquainted with each other quicker, it does not mean it leads to love. The fact that the subjects know of the experiment going into it can lead to bias. Since the subjects already have the mindset of seeking for a partner, it can cloud their judgement. Also, this process would not work for everyone because some personalities do not mesh well and a set of random questions are not going to fix those repelling qualities.
    Although I may not be an expert, true love takes time. In order to fall in love people need time, and some simple questions that could have been taken out of a magazine will not change the fact people need time for true love. Psychologically speaking, men grow bonds with other by spending time with a person multiple times. As for women, it is the quality of the time they spend with a person that affects how they feel about a person. While just like the experiment, this is subject to change because people are complex. So this one time of answering questions will not make complete strangers fall in love, they can grow a closer bond, but it does not mean it will be romantic. Like Romel said, “there is simply no way love can simply erupt out of thin air-so to speak.” Love will not magically appear because people answered a set of questions. Love takes time, so straying into each other’s eyes for four minutes will not make stranger want to marry each other.

  17. It’s in awkward situations that you truly get to know someone better. This simple conversation with a stranger forms into something more personal as your forced to reveal your vulnerable side. Conversation starters lead to difficult back stories and those anecdotes led to what if scenarios. These quirky questions forced the partners to get to know each other. Does it “allow” people to fall in love? Sure. The article explains that the questions would increase the likelihood that they would fall in love and I don’t think that assumption is wrong.I have a harder time believing that this questionnaire would result in love. Even though I am not an expert on love, I would agree with Nick that “a scientific approach alone makes it happen.” The complimenting questions do bring up some “honest responses,” but they do make the conversation feel more awkward than anything. Rather than make two strangers fall in love, I think these questions result in a closer relationship. Not all relationships need to be romantic. It can bring you closer as friends who have been together since their youth.

  18. When watching the video “36 Questions That Make Strangers Fall in Love” I noticed that the questions that were being asked are typical questions asked during first dates and are usually the types of dates that no one would want to go through. They are essentially “ice-breaker” questions and if being used could actually make things awkward or have awkward silences. In the video, Cam and Emily do seem to get along but don’t seem to have that spark that would or should happen. Even though at the end of the video, they did seem to have a flirty feel going on, it was still a little awkward and still seemed like they didn’t know each other well enough to fall in love. I was definitely surprised to see them kiss at the end, but it could have just been for the video’s or audience’s amusement. I agree with what Alex V. says, “… you can’t fall in love with a person in just one sitting; love takes time, and the ways to express it develop over time.” I definitely do think that it takes more than at least three dates to figure out if a person is really your type or just the person you think they might be. It takes years to finally learn about a significant others whole life and experiences, so I do think time is essential to love. I personally think that this video would have been more successful if the subjects knew each other prior than the video and more so if the subjects were friends.

  19. During a study mentioned by asapSCIENCE throughout the video, “36 Questions That Make Strangers Fall In Love” scientist asked two complete strangers to ask each other thirty-six questions that heightens the possibility of falling in love. Romel M. said, “there is simply no way love can simply erupt out of thin air-so to speak.” Liking someone is not determined by whether or not an individual knows what his/her partner’s favorite personal memory or why he/she wants to be famous; that type of “love” seems artificial and ungenuine inasmuch ways as possible. Falling in love should be organic. It starts with pheromones, attraction, and whether or not two people want to stay with each other after the previous qualities dissipate. Love is accepting the quirks and enjoying each others company. Love is not a Q & A session but a process which can be fast and intense, or slow and timely.

  20. According to the video by ASAP Science, “36 Questions that Make Strangers Fall In Love,” people’s chances of falling in love with complete strangers are more likely after asking a series of questions that allow them to know each other better. In my opinion, the idea that people will fall in love after a series of questions is unlikely. Like many of my classmates expressed, falling in love is something that happens over a period time. I do however think that these questions allow people to find potential lovers. These questions allows them to look into a person’s character and personality. As Romel said, “…there is accurate research backing up the claim that individuals feel closer if they reveal intrusive information about themselves.” If a person finds the answers they hear pleasant, then they will obviously be down to go on more dates and could potentially begin a romantic relationship.

  21. I agree but to only to an extent. I feel as though in any situation where you would get to know a stranger, it would make you more likely to want to see them again afterwards. The only situation in which this could not hold true is if you had found out about something you disliked of one another. That is not applicable to this case because after reviewing the questions asked it is noticeable that none of them ask for any kind of personal opinion. I believe that it is detrimental to any actual relationship to know where your partner stands. I agree with Karen when she states that “love is more of a connection.” You cannot truly fall in love with someone whom you have only met once. For the sake of this experiment though I think the way it is set up it would be rather difficult not to want to get to know the other person more.

  22. In the video, “36 Questions That Will Make Strangers Fall in Love” two strangers meet for the first time, and ask each other light, personal questions. Both exchanged a series of answers to get know each other on a deeper level. I disagree with the video, love takes time and effort. It’s a good start but 36 questions are not enough for someone to fall in love. The questions asked in the video were just ways for two people to get to know each other. Love requires a deeper, personal connection between two people. Like what Isaac said,” Falling in love is a process and it can be a lengthy one at that but if you’re patient it will happen.”

Leave a Reply

