Blog Assignment 30

Hello North House,

Hope you guys had a fantastic weekend, I’m your scribe for the week. In this weeks blog post I’ve provided you guys with yet again, another TED talk. The speaker, Bel Pesce, gives 5 tips on how not to achieve your dreams. Click here for the video

Prompt : What were your thoughts and opinions after viewing the TED talk? Have you ever found yourself making these mistakes mentioned in the video?

Reminders:

  • 3 sources for Anaya by this Friday
25 thoughts on “Blog Assignment 30

  1. When watching the TED talk, “5 ways to kill your dreams”, presented by Bel Pesce I laughed at myself, because it took me until the fourth way, out of five, to realize a person should aim to do the complete opposite of what she is saying. The third way to kill your dream stuck out to me the most, and that was “believe the fault is someone else’s”. I believe sometimes people really do just look for the easiest way out and give up as soon as they feel something is out of their control. As Pesce said “you need to get your dreams and make them happen”, because it’s true, it is absolutely no one else’s responsibility to achieve your dreams, it is your own.

    I believe the one mistake I have found myself making is the fifth one, which is “believe that the only things that matter are the dreams themselves.”, and she gives the example of hiking up a large mountain and two seconds after arriving simply saying “alright let’s go back”. I’ve had to complete many projects within my time at I-Poly, and there have been cases where I caught myself working so hard on a project and then just tossing it out and preparing for the next one. When I find myself in that situation I take a minute to commend myself on what I did, and sometimes I save it as a memento. One of my biggest accomplishments is a piece of art I created on my MGP, and i’m so glad I didn’t just toss it out like I usually do.

  2. Brazilian Entrepreneur Bel Peske in a relatively short TED talk speaks about a few ways to arm your future in “5 ways to kill your dreams.” Peske present these ways in a rather comedic tone. She opts to go through her list by explaining these are methods you should do rather shouldn’t do you if you want to destroy your dreams. Her tone was appropriate for her personality and without question enlightening.

    Out of Peskes’ five ways number five struck me. “To achieve all your dreams is to fully enjoy every step of your journey,” says the young entrepreneur. There is a lot of power in that statement especially as a young adult leaving high school to find my career. To be miserable and believe once I get a degree I’ll be happy seems silly to me.

    Hmm for a second I thought Janina and I were going to have the same view of our projects. I agree with Janina that projects do take a lot of time and I do also find myself in a zone when working on them. However, when I throw them away I feel no pain. Like Peske says “the goal is a just a moment of happiness,” and that’s exactly how I feel once I turn in a project. I don’t want to keep it as a memento, because the journey for the most part was enjoyable… at least for the projects I didn’t do the day before.

  3. I’d just like to start off by saying do these types of videos fool anyone anymore? Not in the sense of the message they convey or the theme they carry, no. I mean that misleading title that is obviously turned around and made ironic by the end of the presentation. I just think it’s tacky at this point, but I digress. Besides this, I considered the TED talk very entertaining albeit very vague and nonspecific.

    Definitely however the speaker hits some key points that almost every single successful entrepreneur or business owner has figured out. For example, learning to take blame for your actions. This is something that prominent investors such as Mark Cuban and Warren Buffet have admitted to learning as one of the core tenets for their philosophy on business.

    I used to be faced with the problem of blaming all my ills on external circumstances or events. For example, I would translate my fear into a self-contrived imagined problem that made a particular goal impossible. Soon after reading Ayn Rand -love her or hate her- Sophomore year my perspective changed. Now I can successfully account for my shortfalls in character when I do not achieve a goal and work to correct that flaw; rather than just passing the buck.

    In perspective the speaker is a great capitalist. She has fiercely braved the free market and identified what it takes to make it in her book business and continued to share that wisdom. If more people were willing to take the first step into taking these values to heart, we would have many more people destroying their dreams. Like Janina says,”I believe sometimes people really do just look for the easiest way out and give up as soon as they feel something is out of their control”.

  4. While viewing Bel Pesce’s TED talk on, “5 ways to kill your dream” all I could think about was how I’ve made every single one of these mistakes over the course of my life. In the video, Pesce goes on to explains five different reasons in how to ensure that our dreams DO NOT come true. As Romel M. wrote, “She has fiercely braved the free market and identified what it takes to make it in her book business and continued to share that wisdom.” The entrepreneur starts off with the first way which is believing in overnight successes, then goes to explain the rest, which are believing someone else has the answers for you, deciding to settle when growth is guaranteed, blaming others instead of taking responsibility, and lastly believing that the only thing the goals themselves matter. From all of this, I have gathered that everything in life depends on yourself in the end. You are in charge of your own journey and responsible for getting there. While on that journey, you should appreciate it, rather than rushing to go from point A to point B. If things go wrong, the only person you can really blame is yourself.

    After hearing all five of the easy to believe ways of killing our dreams, the first and the third are what related to me most. The idea of an overnight success is often revolves around the stigma that people are just lucky. I think it is so easy for people, including myself, to think that luck plays such a vital role in people’s lives. Individuals usually don’t acknowledge the fact that there was actual effort and hard work put into that “overnight success”. Like Pesce mentions, “Your overnight success story is always a result of everything you have done in your life through that moment.” along with “There is a missing piece to the story.” because there is no way that life comes at you that easy. These people work to achieve their goals, nothing was truly just handed to them. With the third way, “Deciding to settle when growth is guaranteed.” is the mistake I tend to make often. When things are going well in my life and I’m on top of everything, I start not to worry or even care anymore. Instead of continuing to be productive or even staying on top of the game, I let it all fall on top of me pushing me back to where I was before.

  5. In the Ted Talk by Bel Pesce she talks about how there are 5 ways to kill your dreams. 1: Believe in overnight success. 2: Believe someone else has the answers for you. 3: Decide to settle when growth is guaranteed. 4: Believe the fault is someone else’s. 5: Believe that the only things that matter are the dreams themselves. Something that I believe Pesce missed was a little thing I believe everyone has which is, PROCRASTINATION.

    Everyone procrastinates at some point in time, some more than others. While watching this video I was recommended to watch a Ted Talk titled “Inside the mind of a master procrastinator” ironically I stopped working to watch that video. Learning why is it that I, a master procrastinator, choose to work the way that I do. Everyone has that little “instant gratification monkey” that causes our “rational decision maker” to stray away from doing work and to instead, persay, go on a netflix marathon about cats. It is procrastination that causes everyone to stop focusing on their vision and instead do irrelevant things that in the end cause us to be met with disillusion. I constantly find myself trapped in this constant cycle of procrastination. I take out all my homework, lay it out, do a couple problems, get bored, put on some music, then get so immersed in the tunes in my head instead of the paper at hand. Procrastination is something that I’ve dealt with my entire academic life. It’s something that I am sure I will continue to deal with my entire life, but essentially I am okay with it because it’s what works for me. I procrastinate on an assignment and cram at the last minute, but it ends up completed when it needs to be. Most of my best work have been done the night before or in some cases the morning of. This past project portion, Anaya’s board, I completed in 6 hours from 3 am to 9:00 am on Friday, April 14th. Yes, the morning of and yes, Mr. Holt, I missed your class for another assignment. Can I just say, my board came out pretty well put together for being made the day of.

    It is almost amusing to see how fast I can complete an assignment in the amount of time remaining. Evidently, I am almost positive I got at least a B, and I am okay with that. With I-Poly, I have come to somehow increase the amount of procrastination I actually do. These projects we do here are so compiled close together I stress out about the Capstone in it’s entirety and just choose to wander away from the goal. I wait until the last minute to do everything then, once it is done and accomplished I throw it out because there is always another project to stress and procrastination over. This is why I very much relate to Janina when she stated “I’ve had to complete many projects within my time at I-Poly, and there have been cases where I caught myself working so hard on a project and then just tossing it out and preparing for the next one.” This Ted talk has allowed me to realize how shit I am at being a student, but more importantly that while we often create this vision of working efficiently to achieve a goal, if we don’t try and target that goal then, we will only be left with the disillusion of what could have been.

  6. At first when reading the blog posted by Alex, I thought that it was going to be about not following you dreams completely but the title, 5 Ways to Kill your Dreams is misleading. It was about killing your dreams but the way Bel Pesce explained each one, it was her telling you what not to do in order to achieve your dreams. After viewing the TED talk, the five ways to not follow your dreams are basically ways some people think they should do in order to achieve their goals like, only noticing when you have reached your dreams and not the journey it took to get there or that you should stop working hard once that dream has reached a high point and you think that it can’t go any higher. The way that Bel worded the things she was saying in a different point of view made things more interesting because, talking about how to ruin your dreams rather than achieve, it gives other the opportunity to realize if they are doing anything wrong when they are trying to reach their own goals. Throughout the video, I began to realize that I have been making those same mistakes that Ms. Pesce was talking about. Only focusing on the goal and not the journey and believing that someone else has the answers for me are the mistakes I have made before in the past. When it goes to school projects, before I hated doing projects on things that I didn’t find interesting and I wouldn’t put that much effort into the project. Due to senior project, I have realized the great enjoyment of doing a project on the subject that I find most interesting. It has made me appreciate the different things that I have been able to accomplish just by focusing around this one topic. I always believed that someone had the answers for me. Using the excuse of not knowing what to do or that I need help but in reality I just wanted someone to do something for me is something I have done which made things so stressful. After realizing this mistake, I can now see that me relying on someone else just made things much more difficult. Bel Pesce did a great job in describing the different ways on how not to follow your dreams but I agree with Audissey when she said that Pesce missed procrastination. Yes, some people work best under that stress but those people wouldn’t get the best of themselves since there is always room for improvement.

  7. Of the five ways to kill your dreams, the last one hits home. Enjoying the “little things” along the way makes it all worthwhile for any “mountain” I had to climb over. As Peske had said towards her audience, “To achieve all your dreams is to fully enjoy every step of your journey,” is what I call the food for thought for any goals I’ve had beforehand. Even today, I still hold a tremendous fear of heights until one day I didn’t. A few years back in Utah, I could recall myself stalling the zip line at a resort. Here I was, twelve years old at the time, delaying the line behind me with much younger kids calling me a “pansy” and literally screeching to jump off. This took about a good hour before I finally decided to let that zip line guide my descent. It wasn’t the kids shouting that caused me to jump, rather my father, who was five stories below cheering me on. Sure, the zip line was fun and all but it was my dad that encouraged me to overcome my fear. I would have to say the trip leading to the zip line was the greatest part because I was finally able to conquer my fear of heights, or at least some of it. Nowadays, zip lines are a breeze for me and no longer thrilling for my sake, thanks to the “little things” that helped me achieve/ overcome my dream/fear.

  8. In the TED Talk, “5 ways to kill your dreams” Bel Pesce describes 5 things people do that play a part in destroying their dreams. I thought this video was really eye opening. With social media, it’s so easy for us to look at other people’s success and get caught in the comparison game. On Instagram we see the highlights of people’s lives and think that they are put together through an “overnight success.” Like Pesce said, we don’t see the hard work and the struggle it took them to get there and display their achievements. We look to celebrity self-help books and Snapchat tutorials on “How to get your life together” for clarity in our messy lives. We play our lives too safely, are afraid to step out of comfort zone, but find someone else to blame for all of our missed opportunities. We only think about being at the top and not about how we can get there. I feel that our perspective needs to shift on how we can improve ourselves and not how we can be like others.

    I am not a faultless person. I have done all of the things that Pesce mentioned in her TED Talk. When I saw pictures of other people’s finished Econ Trade Show boards at a reasonable hour, I got discouraged and asked myself, “Why can’t I be that productive?” or “Why can’t my board look as good as that?” I haven’t read the works of Ayn Rand, but I can relate to what Romel said, “Now I can successfully account for my shortfalls in character when I do not achieve a goal and work to correct that flaw; rather than just passing the buck. By watching this video, I am reminded that achieving my dreams are largely influenced and determined by my own effort.

  9. I really enjoyed the video “5 Ways to Kill your Dreams”. Bel Pesce breaks down the five steps everyone makes that lead you into the wrong direction when making and trying to achieve your goals/dreams. I related to the video a lot because I realized that I myself have made almost all of the mistakes in past and current goals, dreams, and basically any work I might have in general. I personally find myself believing in over night success, believing the fault is someone else’s, and believing that only the goals themselves matter the most. I have too many examples of believing in over night success like waiting until the very last minute to do anything and everything. I also blame others for the mistakes I make throughout trying to achieve my goals and dreams and it has become such a huge habit of mine that I didn’t realize I did it until watching Bel Pesce’s TED Talk. When believing that only the goals themselves matter the most, I forget to enjoy the journey and adventure I have with friends, family and even complete strangers and I usually end up regretting it after the achievement. It makes me think that it wasn’t really an achievement at all if I didn’t have any fun doing it.

    In the video, Bel tells a story about a group of friends who decided to climb up a mountain. It was a lot of work and throughout the journey, the groups of friends were sweating but they finally made it to the top of the peak. They celebrated their achievement for a couple of seconds. When their celebration was over, one friend said, “Okay, lets go down.” Then Bel states, “Life is about the journey.” I really liked and agreed with what she said because many people, especially younger people, forget or don’t realize that not all work has to be work. It could be a fun activity, journey, and adventure. It’s all about the kind of mentality one has throughout the time spent trying to achieve these goals and dreams.

    I was interested with what Auddisey said, “It is almost amusing to see how fast I can complete an assignment in the amount of time remaining.” It can be super thrilling to try and get things done at the last minute and to see how good your work can come out when there is so much pressure on you. It can sometimes be a crazy adventure trying to get all of the materials I need as well as trying to get it done while trying to get enough sleep as well. But it can also be very dangerous and does not compare to the work your could’ve completed in the span of a week.

  10. Bel Pesce, gave her audience five examples of potential self-sabotaging behaviors anyone could find themselves doing on the Tedtalk, “five ways to kill your dreams.” At first I thought every point of her talk was blatantly obvious but the more I considered her thoughts the more I realized how easily any individual could fall into these traps of thinking.

    I grew up thinking, “my only dream is to make money.” I had an idea till I was eleven to save up a set price and then give up on my current state in life then relax till I die. Yes, it is a very unrealistic idea but the dream still stands. After explaining the third dream killer, “decide to settle when rough is guaranteed” I realized my plan was exactly that. Pesce said, “okay is never okay.” The advice on paper seems easy but settling is a better option than the possibility of falling. Even if there is an opportunity to make a bit more there is still a little devil inside of me saying, “there is a high chance I can lose almost everything.” Her example made me think, “yes, life is going great but it can be better if I try harder.”

    Like Romel M. I also struggle with the way he used to be faced with the problem of blaming all his ills on external circumstances or events. Blaming others is really easy. Thinking it is so-and-so fault that I am unsuccessful and unhappy is way easier than blaming all my internal struggle on myself. In actuality I am in charge of almost everything that happens in my life. I live in California and there are so much opportunities here and if I am not in the place I truly want to be at this point of my life it is completely my fault. If I did not like the school I was in I could transfer, If I felt like a person made me unhappy I could stop talking to them, or if I do not like my job I can quit. I just need to remind myself that one small thing will not permanently create a domino effect of unfavorable outcomes but it has the possibility of changing my life into something awesome.

  11. At some point, people have dreams, or aspirations, whether to accomplish or, possibly, destroy them. However, what most do not realize is the aftermath of the acquired achievements. In a brief TED Talk, Brazilian Entrepreneur Bel Peske discusses five possible methods to wreck people’s dreams. Out of the five, the fifth method suggests to “believe that the only things that matter are the dreams themselves.”

    Fascinated, after viewing the TED Talk, I thought of the numerous times I assumed that the ultimate dream is obtaining the dream. Last year, as a component for the “My American Dream Project,” my group and I were required to construct a model that displayed the process of producing fertilizer for soil. After reading the rubric, the only thought that lingered was, ‘Once we’re done, no more worries.’ We were unsure of what to do and how to do it, until our thoughts converged and came to a consent. So, we worked ruthlessly for many days till our piece was complete. We turned it in, and as a result, we got an ‘A.’ Big deal. The first moment I saw my grade, I jumped with excitement! And by the hour, my enthusiasm leveled back to normal. But how so?

    Peske’s statement asserts the truth: “Achieving a dream is a momentary sensation.” Therefore: “The only way to achieve all of your dreams is to fully enjoy every step of your journey.” Along with Nick, I agree that this quote, including the previous, have “a lot of power.” They are astonishing, eye-opening statements.

    Looking back, I realized that all those stressful meetings were worth the risk. Subconsciously, I attained an even bigger dream: a closer relationship with my peers. Grades are just letters, whereas friendships represent comfort. Due to the jokes, frustration, and camaraderie, I would be willing to endeavor through this process again.

  12. When we think about the dreams we have and the ways to get there, we are generally ambitious in our thoughts. As we progress through with our dreams we meet obstacles we never thought we’d face. The way we handle them, like the Ted Talk explained, dictates what outcome we’’ll have.

    Generally speaking, the process of success comes from the effort we portray. The Ted talk explained it with accuracy, if you subject yourself to blaming others, getting comfortable with the state of your goal, and not noticing your overall success, it will surely lead you to the path of failure. In order to achieve success you must be willing to take risks and proceed with failure.

    Any hardworking individual can tell you their success story was not much of a success to begin with. I learned from my father that success has to be earned and being vigilant in your work will surely have great outcomes. From having his business for over 11 years most of his stories have been of his ability to surpass other people’s doubts and be able to achieve over failures. In my experience, the same can be shown over my personal vendettas. I struggled to get past my personal fears and always amounted to blaming my circumstances for my outcomes. Soon I came to learn that not all fears should be listened to and instead we should work toward the pathway of our fears to achieve any success in our lives.

  13. In the Ted Talk, “5 ways to kill your dreams” by speaker Bel Pesce, she shares her entrepreneurial mentality with her audience in a comedic and relatable way. Most, if not all of us should be able to recognize one or more of these toxic (but common) ways. One of the the points which I strongly support is the resolution of taking responsibility for your actions, and not to delude yourself by trying to thrust the causes to another source. Bel Pesce reminds me of the teachings of David Schwartz in, “The Magic of Thinking Big” the idea of conquering your mind and arming it to manifest your dreams. Anything similar to that book and it’s mentalities are extremely valuable as far as useful knowledge goes. By investing time in absorbing and interpreting such information I am empowering my brain to make successful decisions.

    We are all guilty of these ways, if not I assure you at one point or another you will slip up. There’s just no way you can keep your mind perfectly tamed 24/7, lack of rest and lack of will can bring the mightiest of us all to mistakes. Often I have allowed my fears and doubts overwhelm me, resulting in built up frustrations which I expel spontaneously. Similar to Romel’s example, “I would translate my fear into a self-contrived imagined problem that made a particular goal impossible.” I have blown minuscule situations out of proportion, making the tiniest obstacle into an impenetrable force. Always in hindsight I realize how easily I could solve that problem, but in the heat of the moment it is difficult to abstain.

  14. I really enjoyed this week’s ted talk. Of the five ways to kill your dreams the last one hit me the most. The enjoying the “little things” hit me. All my goals in life seems so far away. However enjoying the journey is so important. When viewing this video it made me think of all my fitness goals throughout the last four years. How freshmen year I wanted to be able and do 15 consistent pull ups, sophomore year I wanted to bench press over 150 pounds and junior year I wanted to be able to do 185 pounds on my bench and break 300 pounds on my deadlift. Just while typing this blog assignment i’ve been laughing the entire time thinking about how many times I had to fail and get hurt and embarrass my self to achieve all those goals. I really enjoyed every step in the journey to destroy those goals.

    I have found myself making the third mistake before. Once i achieved one of my many fitness goals i’d get lazy. Slack off because i didn’t know where to go next with pushing myself. Eventually i realized if i worked even harder i’d be able to do more amazing things i’ve never imagined. I like what Jennifer’s father taught her “ I learned from my father that success has to be earned and being vigilant in your work will surely have great outcomes. “ I agree with her dad he sounds like a smart man.

  15. In the TED talk “5 Ways to Kill Your Dreams” by entrepreneur Bel Pesce; she speaks in a sarcastic manor about five tips you can follow to avoid reaching your goals. While watching this video I was actually surprised with how much I enjoyed and related to the message being shared. Nine times out of ten I am bored within five seconds of the blog TED talks and I click out, however this one held my interest and I was able to connect her message to my own experiences.

    Out of the five tips she lists I most closely related to the one about taking responsibility for your actions. It is no doubt far easier to pass on the blame for your mistakes or failures onto someone or something else. However, in life it is important to own up to your actions no matter what the aftermath will entail. From experience, especially growing up with younger siblings, there have been many times were I have done something wrong and shamefully threw one or both of them under the bus to avoid the consequences of my mistakes. Much like Romel I too used to be, “Faced with the problem of blaming all my ills on external circumstances or events.” But recently it has become apparent to me that this method of avoiding situations is getting me nowhere and will continue to do so until I change my ways. Especially in the next chapter of my life with college and real world responsibilities, there is going to be no one to blame but myself for my own failures and mistakes.

  16. I found this TED talk “5 Ways to Kill Your Dreams” by Bel Pesce very interesting. There are many videos that give advice on how to achieve your dream, but she took a different route and talked about what not to do. I have found myself guilty of making some of these mistakes when it comes to my goals, but it has mainly happened when I am trying to reach my fitness goals. Like Alex said, “Once I achieved one of my many fitness goals I’d get lazy.” This has happened to me multiple times, when I reach my goal I settle there. It takes me a while to think of a new goal to set. Another mistake I found myself making was, focusing on the goal and not the journey. When I first decided I wanted to lose weight, I only thought about my end goal, I never thought about my progress along the way. I noticed I was losing weight but I never paid much attention to it, what I really wanted was to reach my end goal.

    One of the mistakes that was mentioned that I am not always guilty of, but I have made before is believing in overnight success. Growing up I have always had a lot of patience, so I never got frustrated if things did not happen as quickly as I wanted them to. Yet when it came to my goals, I always wanted to achieve them sooner than later. This is not a mistake I’ve made while trying to achieve a goal, but also when it has come to school work. I have left a project for the last minute and although I finish the project, I always regret it after.

  17. “Achieving a dream is a momentary sensation and your life is not” says Bel Pesce in her Ted Talk, “5 ways to kill your dreams”. In this video, Bel talks about what not to do when pursuing after your dreams. Like Jessica G. said in her post, “There are many videos that give advice on how to achieve your dream, but she took a different route”. I can say myself that I have lead myself into some of the things she said, but there are other aspects where I cannot relate to them or does not help me. There have some occasions where try to go on the path of success that one celebrity went through and do as much as can to achieve my goal, but then I started realizing that forging my dreams after someone else would take to long and that I needed to forge my own path for my dreams. The important message is to achieve after your dreams.

    The idea of overnight success is something we wish that can happen to us. In the YouTube community there can be a video that can go viral with hours, days, or weeks. This video can have a one hundred million views, but eventually you start to question what will that person post next? There is a YouTube channel called Chance and Anthony and they are a branch of another YouTube channel called Team 10. Within three weeks ‘Chance and Anthony’ have five hundred thousand subscribers within three weeks. That type of success right there is ridiculous. We as dreamers should not rely on overnight success because it something that barely happens and when it does, it was probably done through luck or mysterious fortune.

    In conclusion, pursue after your dreams and do not let anyone stop you, especially yourself.

  18. I found this TED talk interesting; usually people talk about what to do, but Ms. Pesce talks about the ways to kill your dream. I think almost everyone has done one of these five things at least once in their life. Specifically for me the one that stood out to me was that I tend to blame others for my lack of success. Whether it be for my grade not being as high as I would like it to be and blaming the teacher for not teaching me well. I agree with what Jesse said, “One of the mistakes that was mentioned that I am not always guilty of, but I have made before is believing in overnight success.” We all tend to push back starting on something until it’s too late, sure we end up finishing it but it turns out to be a complete disaster.

  19. In Bel Pesce’s TED talk entitled, “5 ways to kill your dream” Pesce discussed the 5 ways to not follow your dreams which include: to believe in overnight success, believe someone else has the answers for you, decide to settle when growth is guaranteed, believe the fault is someone else’s, and believe that the only things that matter are the dreams themselves.

    After viewing this TED talk, I realized the paths I have taken to follow my dreams are the reasons why I did not attain them. Like most people, I am guilty of believing in overnight success. There have been multiple occasions where I find myself putting in a small amount of work towards my dream, and expecting to experience overnight success. Understandably this overnight success did not transpire and I was naive to think that success could happen overnight. As Pesce stated, “Your overnight success story is always the result of everything you have done in your life through that moment.” What I had failed to realize was that overnight success comes with a great deal of hard work and perseverance, which I simply was not doing.

    Another mistake I can relate to in this video was believing the fault was someone else’s. I agree with Althea when she states, “Blaming others is really easy. Thinking it is so-and-so fault that I am unsuccessful and unhappy is way easier than blaming all my internal struggle on myself.” It is true; blaming outside sources as the cause for my failure is too easy. Pesce enlightened me to stop blaming others, and to start taking responsibility for attaining my dreams. I am glad I watched this TED talk, and I will keep these 5 ways to kill your dreams in mind when I am trying to reach my goals.

  20. The video, “5 ways to kill your dreams,” was intended to shed light on a very common subject that society thinks they have already figured out. The idea to overcome the odds and chase your dreams are circulated throughout society in every platform that is accessible at our fingertips. Books, movies, T.V. shows, documentaries, and so many others constantly give people inspiration and hope that ‘maybe one day I will be able to achieve my dreams,’ but most of the time those social platforms never help you figure out how.
    I found the video very enlightening because it helped me understand why people don’t always achieve their dreams and how that can be changed. Coming into the video, I had preconceived notions that some of her points were common knowledge and didn’t need to be addressed like that overnight success was plausible and that it is always someone else’s fault, but after reading so many comments I realized that it is an important issue and I have even thought it myself. However, the tip that was most influential to me was the fifth one, believe that all of the goals themselves matter. In the video the speaker talks about how everybody always thinks that if they just reach their goal they’ll be happy for the rest of their life, and for a time maybe, but eventually you’ll get there and think now what? She gave the analogy of hiking a huge trail that was a big milestone that took a lot of work and the people get to the top and celebrate, but after a few seconds one person turns to the other and says, “Ok let’s go down.” The same is with life and the journey it takes to achieve a goal. Nobody is happy until the goal is achieved, but she says, “If every step becomes something to learn or something to celebrate you will for sure enjoy your journey, [and therefore most of your life.]”

  21. After watching the TED talk “5 ways to kill your dreams”, I agree with Pesce. Those five things will definitely kill any dream or anything you attempt. But what I thought was interesting was how Pesce told us what would kill your dreams. Usually people tend to tell you the steps to success. We all know that their are many ways to achieve success so when then person shares their steps, that is their own path. It worked for them but it may not work for others. Pesce on the other lets us know the ways to kill our dreams. These ways will always kill your dreams no matter what path you take. That is why this TED talk is such good advice. Everyone is guilty of doing these five ways too. That is why they are so important to know what they are so that we can avoid them.

    I agree with Alex F. when he says that the journey is really important. Pesce also said that it is very fulfilling. Once you accomplish your goal or you achieve success, it feels like that’s it. But the end goal wasn’t even the best part, it was the journey there.

  22. Bel Pesce’s ted talk video on how not to achieve your dreams brings up several (somewhat obvious) points to ensure failure. Personally, I agree with Romel in that I found these points to be common sense but then again, every once in a while we need a quick refresher to prevent us from commits these mistakes.
    There was one point in particular that I found struck close to home and that was to expect instant success. I have sometimes found that when I’m working on a project or trying to master a subject, I want instant results. Whenever I feel myself getting impatient, I remind myself of what my mother once told, “La sopa sabe mas rica cuando se cocina bajo fuego lento.” That essentially translates to “The soup tastes better it’s cooked with a low flame.” Obviously, with a low flame it takes longer to cook, but it does end up gaining a taste it wouldn’t otherwise have. If there’s anything I need to work on, its my patience.

  23. I have to agree with Bel Pesce and her beliefs on how to destroy your dreams. There hasn’t been many times in my life were I have felt as though whatever I was working for was completely out of sight, but one of those times was when I was training in Tae Kwon Doe. It took me a total of seven grueling and painful years full of blood and sweat in order to finally have the black strap of sturdy cloth tied around my waist. Pesce’s first point about falling under the impression that success occurs over night can be one of your biggest enemies. For Example, After year six of having trained in martial arts I wasn’t sure if I had the determination to push through and give one-hundred percent of my time and effort into something that wasn’t my education. It was the mindset of having expect result sooner than expected that hindered my progression. To be exact it took me two thousand five hundred and fifty five nights to reach my end goal but looking back I cannot say a single one of those nights was not worth my time. I have to agree with Maryela when she says that “almost everyone has done one of these things at one point in their lives” and this is key to reaching our end goal. It is just like Pesce said “Every time we trip we learn something more about our journey” and its this truth that not only gets us were we want to be but helps us grow along the way.

  24. In her TED Talk, Bel Pesce talks about the five things she urges you not to do in order to attain lifetime goals. The five things not to do are as follows: do not believe in overnight success, do not believe someone else will give you answers, do not settle when growth is guaranteed, do not blame others for your mistakes, and do not think that dreams are the only thing that matters.

    While watching the video, I could not help but think to myself that I have done all of these things. Not only have I done all of these things on a bigger scale for reaching my goals, but I find myself doing some of these things on a daily basis in much simpler situations. For example, when I’m driving on the freeways and the car in front of me suddenly breaks, causing me to slam on my breaks, I get road rage and get put in a bad mood; when I look back at the situation, however, I realize that although the other driver deccelerated abruptly, I should have been further away from the car to allow myself some reaction time. Initially, I put all the blame on the other driver, but then I realized that I could have also done something myself to avoid the situation.

    Another thing I catch myself doing is settling when growth is guaranteed. For example, I have been doing yoga for about the past year now, and have gained lots of flexibility and strength from it. I can do a handful of fairly difficult yoga poses, and sometimes I catch myself thinking that those handful of poses are good enough for me. I have not been venturing out of my comfort zone lately to try new yoga poses, which would ultimately lead to my growth.

    Like Bruce said, “We are all guilty of these ways, if not I assure you at one point or another you will slip up.” It actually scares me to think that I do some of the five things not to do to reach goals on a daily basis. This video really opened up my eyes to my actions and attitudes towards achieving my goals. It is true that small bad can turn into even worse habits. I do not want to find myself 20 years from now looking back at my life and regretting what I did not do in order to reach my goals.

  25. In “5 ways to kill your dreams”, presented by Bel Pesce I thought to myself wow I need to change my outlook on life. More specifically on the not trying to blame others for my shortcomings I have a terrible habit of doing so. Out of the five ways to kill my dreams that have been my biggest challenge. Jaydalynn made an excellent point when she said, “You are in charge of your own journey and responsible for getting there.” Life is not a cakewalk for most of us unless you’re born into a family like Kanye West and Kim Kardashian’s kids are but even then know one really knows what those children are thinking and going through on the daily. Point being that we can all struggle some may hide it better than others but life’s struggles will always be there. Finding excuses to explain your failures helps no one we would not grow as people if we did not get knocked over and learn how to get back up. Those who have learned how to get back up are those who are most successful in life.

Leave a Reply

