Blog Assignment #26

Hello North House,

I hope everybody had a great weekend even though we lost a hour of sleep. For this week’s blog, I present you a video called “I JUST SUED THE SCHOOL SYSTEM” by Prince Ea. I chose this topic because it is a topic that is not discussed as much as it should be. Since kids are the future, improving the school system is something we need to act on.

Click here for the video.

Prompt: After viewing the video, what are your thoughts? Do you think we need to change the school system? Use evidence from the video to support your statement.

30 Comments

  1. After watching the video I JUST SUED THE SCHOOL by Prince Ea, it made me cry. The words he said were was so powerful and when he said that a teacher can reach the heart of that kid, it broke me down because I feel it is true. Some students feel a connection with their teachers and can maybe even possibly feel a better connection with them than their own parents. The things he was saying about cutting standardized testing and letting student express their creative side is something that should be done. It isn’t fair that a test determines the future of a student who so badly wants to reach their career goal and is stopped mid-track due to a test. Even the way that colleges pick their students, it isn’t fair because all they look at is papers and not the actual person who that paper is about. Teachers deserve much more credit than they get because they help mold students and help reach our goals. Forming connections with students can help more than people actually think, if a student were to trust you with things then they would open up and I am an example. There shouldn’t be competition for grades because that may just make other students feel dumb but in the end we can all achieve the same thing if we work for it. Lastly, when he said that students are 20% of our population but 100% of our future, it made me realize that the world now doesn’t need students who know how to do the same things but students who can use their own talents to help the world become a better place.

  2. This would have been a great supplement to the Build a Better School project we had last year. Is it even still a project? I don’t know… Build a Better School or not this video is provoking and vocal. Prince Era in “I just sued the school system,” is not the first to criticize the current system, but is probably the first to present the issue in the form of a court case. The accused is School in the flesh personified as an old man that could be death himself (from the popular CW series “Supernatural).” Ea speaks in rhyme about an outdated school system he believes is misleading the American youth. Ea gives historical context on the design of the modern American school system, one that hasn’t changed much since its instalment to prepare young Americans for the factory. The system along with standardized test are to blame for the lack of creativity and effectiveness towards students.

    I think we should all at least contemplate what Prince Ea is asking of us when he says “if we can customize health care, cars, and “Facebook” pages, then it is our duty to do the same for education.” Is in it odd that there is some truth to this. I know “I Poly” tries to separate itself from typical high school education, but what good is it that 600 students are getting a different style of education while the majority of schools in the state and country are still getting the same old system. I have to agree that the education system in the States could be better. It is not the teachers or the student, but the structure and content just as Ea mentions. I believe all subjects are important and to an extent some students are just lazy and don’t care about their education. It takes a lot of hard work and dedication to do well in school. However, there are so many subjects that I wish our education system would make part of our curriculum and not just brush them off as “electives.”

    Kenny is right since kids are “100% our future,” why aren’t we as students more vocal about changing a system that we complain about. I believe that the methods and goals of American education should be redirected. Is it really that difficult to change the system? Maybe, but like Ea mentioned there are countries like Sweden who have successfully invested in a different system aimed at enlightening students and paying teachers as they should be seen. It may be easier said than done, but States should look at countries who are pioneers in education and adopt their models into our own system.

  3. In Prince Era’s YouTube video, “I Just Sued the School System,” Era portrays himself as a lawyer for the plaintiffs who are perhaps students, in a suit against the archaic school system. Like many of his past works, the video itself is out of the ordinary – but its message is clear as day. For the duration of the video, Era orates a dramatic rap style monologue detailing the injustices that the current school system is inflicting on its youth, otherwise known as the future of humanity.

    One of the most important lines that were expressed, was when he began speaking of all the innovations of the last one-hundred and fifty years. The improvement that has been made in the automotive industry, to the advancement of cellular devices – but when he shows the difference between a classroom of the past to present day, the jury is stunned. I never really realized how much this institution and its practices have stayed the same. One-hundred and fifty years of just staying stagnant and possibly even falling behind. I don’t know why I was so stunned, but I suppose when I did research last year for “Build A Better School” this wasn’t at the forefront of my mind. Times have changed, people have changed, like Era says, we need more innovative and creative ways of learning.

    In this world of technology, it has become a fact that our attention spans are shrinking. The way people think is changing so it just seems fit that with a changing biology, we change the ways we use to educate ourselves. We’re a country that ranks 24th in the world in literacy, 14th in education, and 2nd in ignorance even though per USC, the United States spends over 800 billion dollars on its education system. I agree with Nick when he says, “the school system could be better…the structure and content,” because in changing times, we need to have different ways of learning. Era suggests alternatives styles of teaching which might be a solution to aid our failing school system. He says students like me are 20% of the population, but 100% of our future and that’s the truth. So, for me after hearing Era’s opening statement in Students v. School System, as a juror, I already know my verdict – guilty.

  4. After viewing the video, “I Just Sued The School System!!!”, youtuber Richard Williams (Prince Ea) discusses the need for a change in America’s outdated school system. I stumbled across this video last year while researching for our Build a Better School project and I still stand by the message being preached. As mentioned in the video, there really has not been many significant changes to the modern day school system within the last one-hundred and fifty years and that in itself is a huge problem. Students have the ability to succeed and make a difference in the future and are much more than factories workers now. I appreciated the fact that in the video, Williams was not necessarily blaming the teachers, it was more of him criticizing the curriculum. Teachers, or most teachers do care and try their best in attending to the student’s needs/talents so it is not the teachers fault, nor is it the students. Every individual student has their own way of learning and that goes for every teacher’s style of teaching, they can only do so much. However, students also need to take some responsibility upon themselves and go the extra mile to get most out of their education. You can’t always blame the curriculum or teachers if you are not putting in the effort to learn as well. It goes both ways.

    As we continue to evolve and advance, our education should move along with it. In the words of Albert Einstein, “If you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.”, and that is exactly how what students feel and how the school system works. Students are constantly being pushed to learn and adapt to all these common core standards even when it does not work out. When students have a difficult time grasping these concepts, they are often judged as it reflects in their grades (which should not represent a student’s potential). I think Nick said it best when he wrote, “The system along with standardized tests are to blame for the lack of creativity and effectiveness towards students.” as a nation, we are falling behind. Fortunately, going to iPoly has given me many opportunities to be creative with what I do with my work, but that still is not enough. The current school system is becoming less effective and although much of what is being taught is relevant, there is still plenty of room for improvement beyond that. Students are the future of this nation and if we continue to learn the same way as students from over a hundred years ago, there will never be any changes. We’ll fall into the same mistakes and history will continue to repeat itself. We should be moving forward into the future not jogging in the same place.

  5. Upon watching Prince Era’s YouTube video, “I just sued the school system,” I immediately fell in love with the first sentence “If you judge a fish by it’s ability to climb a tree, then it will live its whole life believing it is stupid.” The reason I found this to be so remarkable is because I do relate to that fish, and I believe there are some major issues with the school system. As the video explains the school system has been the same for a hundred years, and students are still competing against one another to ensure they get an A. Society is wired to believe that if a student does not get an A then they are not intelligent and will fail at life. These beliefs are what scatter the hopes of so many people. If a student does not get a 4.0 GPA then they will not be praised and choosen for the most elite colleges. And in today’s society no college degree means no meaningful career. Another major flaw that the video explained is that teachers are being underpaid when it’s true, they have the most important jobs in the world yet they tend to be over looked.

    I agree with Nick C when he states ‘there are so many subjects I wish our education system would make part of our curriculum and not just brush off as “electives”‘ I myself wish schools would teach more about psychology or photography, but instead I take test after test memorizing that the Mitochondria is the power house of a cell. There are ways to improve the system like, shorter days, later start times, better pay for teachers, and incorporate more than just the four core subjects. Era’s video could not have ended better by saying if we make a change then we will live in a world where fish are not forced to climb trees.

  6. The comments strewed along the video by Prince Ea, are a headache to read. I see numerous “Yes-Man” comments displaying the education system has gone the way of the dinosaurs, that change needs to happen. Personally, I agree to an extent of the message of radically improving schools to better suit the needs of students, however, schools should not be fully blamed by the piss-poor performance or lack of done by students. Sure, these days are different from that of our parents. But how different? If our parents completed school with hardly any bickering, how come students today do so? Relating back to the video, there was one comment that struck my interest. “school has made me lose countless hours of sleep. not eat enough food. or even be social. i feel like right when I get home I’m right back at school because I have to do so much homework. family dinners? nope.free time? nah. time to hang out with friends? I wish.” Believe it or not, ladies and gentlemen, I don’t feel this way. I don’t break down, blaming all my life’s fault on school. In fact, I’m privileged to be able to even attend school, unlike those of impoverished nations that are DYING to have this opportunity. Hence, I feel this is a first-world issue, where it’s easy to criticize anything while not providing a far or near solution to replace it. As for the prompt, there needs to be some essential adjustments for school systems in which I can’t name. As Christopher Q. had nicely put it, “In this world of technology, it has become a fact that our attention spans are shrinking.” Yes, our attention spans have shrunk. Why you may ask? It’s a simple enough answer: technology. Today we enjoy the blessings of tech in any imaginable way; the generation envied over. What a time to be alive, but here we are squabbling over something we take for granted.
    I enjoy school and while I may not be the brightest kid, I consider myself a solid B grade student. The way I see it, the unrelated material such as Geometry, Physics, or English are there for a reason; a stepping stone for further interest. For myself, Biology sparked my interest among the living world and before that, I had no clue what I wanted to do in the future. If we did away subjects and implemented themes, where the students are the ones teaching themselves, it would be total anarchy. No one would choose math or any other, but their own personal purpose. What would become of Math, Science, English, and possibly the advancement of humanity if everyone just wants to do tap-dancing?

  7. Youtuber, Prince Ea, video I JUST SUED THE SCHOOL SYSTEM introduces the audience to a courtroom prosecuting the school system in the grounds of short changing students, outdated practices, and mistreatment of teachers. Each individual under the age of eighteen in the United States is required to go to school for about eight hours a day following a routine consisting of going to a pre-scheduled class, learning a fixed curriculum, and then taking a standardized test. Educators follow a standard created by the government to ensure students are learning properly and efficiently. Classes, tests, projects, and quizzes are mostly structured and subjects are confined.

    School is a good primer towards life –not the subjects but the structure. It teaches us how to follow deadlines, prioritize balance in our lives, and how to be an adult. Turning bills on time, networking, grasping how to call and email professionally, and understanding how to deal with people is what the school system prepares us for. Homework is a precursor to paying bills, filling out forms, and paying taxes. Going to school everyday, doing those tests and homework, and turning things on time is stupid and annoying but that is life. We do things we do not want to do and that is the gist of being an adult. It is important not to base one’s worth on failing/passing a test but one’s quality as a human – is this person kind and considerate, or a jerk? A good grade does not excuse any individual from being a bad person.

    Nick C. said, “I believe that the methods and goals of American education should be redirected.” Prince Ea used examples of countries with successful education systems such as Finland or Singapore who teach kids how to collaborate instead of compete, giving teachers better wage, and giving kids shorter school days.

  8. Do you think we need to change the school system? Use evidence from the video to support your statement.

    After viewing “I JUST SUED THE SCHOOL SYSTEM” by Prince Ea, I realized how much I agree with what he spoke about. He spoke about how schools expect so much from us students by using the argument, “Not only does [the school system] make fish climb trees, but also makes them climb down.” I was astonished to see that I related so much to this fish. Prince Ea talked about students having to compete for an A and I agree with that, but it’s not only competing but as well as stressing and crying over a single letter. I also believe that the school system does have a way of crushing dreams sometimes as well as our creativity. I also see that things like history should be taught because, “History is bound to repeat itself,” and we don’t want that, but it’s a lot more than that. We need things like art and sports and home ec and things that we like to do and like to learn about and that might not be important to the school system, but are important to us students. I do think many things should change in the school system but I also understand why we need certain subjects and certain skills to help us in the future. I believe that we should not be stressing or be sad or crying over a project that won’t matter once we graduate. I believe that we should not be tested on memorization because people like me have trouble memorizing things like birthdays so how would I be able to memorize things like math equations and physics equations?

    I agree with what Janina said, “There are ways to improve the system like, shorter days, later start times, better pay for teachers, and incorporate more than just the four core subjects.” Prince Ea speaks about heavenly places like Finland, Singapore, and Montessori that are doing just that and are succeeding.

  9. When I viewed Prince Era’s YouTube video, “I just sued the school system,” I was interested by his quote, “If you judge a fish by it’s ability to climb a tree, then it will live its whole life believing it is stupid.” I agree to a certain extent, there are definitely some people who aren’t capable of doing certain things. But there’s a difference between judging and teaching. If the entire world is a place with only trees the fish has a choice, adapt or die. The common core is just that, a common core which is fundamental in our self establishment in the world. Without the classes I’ve taken I would not have gained my general capabilities. By learning the general system I’m capable of branching off into my own passions.

    But in answer to the prompt, I believe the system should definitely change, it’s already on the path. I agree with Kenneth when he says, “No one would choose math or any other, but their own personal purpose.” With all the variety, a small percentage of people would choose to pursue work in math. We should still learn the common core, because otherwise we will lack essential understanding. But we should not suffer if we struggle to understand these subjects, only if we are lazy in them. If they focus on helping us understand and establish good ethics (work/reward) then we will all be more successful in general education, easier said than done. After completion of GE we should then be given the opportunity to follow our passions, it’s not something we should have to ponder so much and compete for. We are taught to make money instead of following a passion of which we love. Hopefully in the future productivity will be so abundant and automated that we will eventually be able to do the things we really want to do. Until then, I have to keep up with the assignments at high school. Only then will I gain access to education that genuinely capture my curiosity.

  10. Throughout the history of innovations, it is surprising to realize that the only subject matter that has not improved thoroughly is education. According to the video, “I JUST SUED THE SCHOOL SYSTEM,” Youtuber, Prince Ea, presents the issue of the lack of innovation within the system of education.

    At one point, Ea stated: “Do you realize how many kids relate to that fish…thinking they are stupid, believing they are useless.” In an article by PsychCentral, Dr. Asa Marokus wrote that one reason why students might perform poorly in school was due to cognitive deficits. Dr. Marokus proposed to determine the “child’s true capabilities rather than” presuming their apparent skills. For it is a fact: two brains are never the same. Sure, anyone can assign students the same material, but the results will most likely be different. Therefore, since every brain works in a unique manner, it is crucial to stimulate the creativity of every student to nurture and develop their gifts.

    When I finished viewing the video, I was amused because I always thought to myself, “Gosh! I-Poly is just a waste of my time. Projects! Projects! Projects!” I did not have the decency to view the school from a different standpoint. I considered the options of transferring schools to further my education, but then, I realized the equipment they offered — critical, creative, and innovative thinking. Though the school does lack other extracurriculars, their innovation process is halfway complete.

    I agree with Althaea when she mentioned, “A good grade does not excuse any individual from being a bad person.” Every person is bestowed with distinct qualities. Some may excel in certain areas, whereas others do not. And for a letter? When will schools notice the inequality among students? The only hope is that the action is taken soon.

  11. In terms of what are my thoughts after watching this video, I have seen this before Kenny posted it, but I did like the concept and message the creator was spreading. What was the video about? Just like Benjamin T. said in his post, ” the video presents the issue of the lack of innovation within the system of education.” Is there a lack in the system? What can we do to fix it or improve upon it?

    Prince Ea said in the video, “school is like teaching a fish how to climb a tree” and I bring this up specifically because I find it to be true in some cases and ‘eh’ in others. Personally, I have took classes where they will be no help to me at all during the next four years in college. There are times where some schools do not have the ability to teach the kids at the level they are suppose to be at, but are either teaching too advanced, or too simple. I complain about this one thing a lot; in college, I am required to take Intro Statistics I and then Intro Statistics II. But the math I am taking right now is not about statistics, but learning how to multiply. Going back to what I said earlier, there are schools where teach math that does not pertain to that grade level, or teaching a subject that pertains lower to the level you are currently in. And what Benjamin T. said in his post, where he wanted to leave and how IPoly is a waste of my time, I completely agree with. Other high schools offering honors classes and advance placement, and then there are classes at IPoly where people are struggling, or are too advanced for the class. There is a lack of innovation and because of that, the school or the system itself.

    In conclusion, there are some schools that are balanced or that are fixed. I do not know the method on how to fix it, but personally, I feel that IPoly should expand and offer more classes that both honors or even advanced placement. You should not be keeping a student trapped in a class teaching them how to multiply, when they should be doing something that will help or prepare them for college.

  12. I have never seen middle school or high school as anything more than glorified daycare. Learning has been, and always will be, my own prerogative. It is only a coincidence when the classroom’s lessons align with my own learning. It’s a source of great frustration that I am obliged to spend a significant time at school hearing about the same crap I’ve already heard before, again and again, only to return home to have more time taken from my own studies just for the sake of entertaining a teacher’s homework assignment. Only to return with it to school the next day and make the exchange for a grade. Although “exchange” is an unfair description, it’s more like a hostage situation. I simply give in to the demands, and I fill out the homework. If all goes well, I secure my grade and leave, simply to do the same thing over again. At times, it feels like daycare for some of the instructors as well. They stand up there, repeating themselves again and again, acting needy when they do not have everyone’s undivided attention. I get it, there is a job to be done, but when I spend my time reading about something truly applicable to my life, I won’t take you very seriously when you single me out and say, “you know, maybe if you paid attention you might learn something.” Thank you, the offer is very tempting, but I think I’ll abstain. Despite my cascade of complaints, I do not believe there is much we can do to save the school system. I believe that is mainly at the fault of the wretched demographic that attend schools. Children. Kenneth stole the words from my mouth when he said, “schools should not be fully blamed by the piss-poor performance or lack of done by students.” However, I would at least like to see some effort, there are some schools out there that are trying. Some schools actually have an art program AND a music program!

  13. I am on the boat of if it ain’t broke don’t fix it. We all need the fundamentals of a common core because then wouldn’t be able to function as a society. Maybe it was that I have seen the video once before but nothing really connected with me because I have never felt like I have been shortchanged by the school system. I have never felt like I have been told what to think. For people who feel otherwise then yes I would say change the school system but I personally do not have any particular talents that having a class in school could help with like art or dance as stated in the video by Prince Ea. Those that have those talents tend to seek them out on their own by joining a dance team or taking art classes outside of school. I completely agree with Bruce when he said, “The common core is just that, a common core which is fundamental in our self establishment in the world.” There needs to be a point where all student meet halfway and after that, they could branch off and do whatever they would like and that basically is the K-12 system.

  14. In Prince Era’s YouTube video entitled, “I Just Sued the School System,”discusses all the flaws of the modern school system. This video took place in a courtroom where Era acted as the lawyer for the students of today, and called to trial modern day schooling. While on trial Era accused the school system of killing creativity, individuality, as well as being intellectually abusive. Era stated that nothing has changed in a classroom for more than a century, which garnered shock within the courtroom. Era argued that schools today are producing “robot zombies” but we need people who think innovatively, critically, and independently.

    After viewing this video, I felt truly moved. I admired how Era acted as the voice for the future (the students of today). In addition, Era opened my eyes by perfectly summing up what makes the education system flawed. I do believe we need to change the school system. One of the major points brought up by Era was that no two brains are the same, so it does not make sense to why students are being taught the same way. I agree with Benji when he stated, ”Every person is bestowed with distinct qualities. Some may excel in certain areas, whereas others do not”. I also think we should learn from Finland’s education system, which out performs every other country in the world. Finland’s secret to a successful education system is simple: students have shorter school days, collaborate instead of compete, have better wages for teachers, and get no homework. For the betterment of the future, the change to create a better school system must start now.

  15. Honestly, there are serious fundamental flaws with the US Education system. But I don’t know if I can agree with the proposals and arguments posed in this video. For one, the man has published a series of videos on wide range of progressive topics. I’m not saying he is ignorant or misinformed, but anyone who covers a broad expanse of topics simply for the sake of change probably is not the most qualified individual to be speaking on the matter.
    Personally, I think reform should come through the process of technology. Programs like Khan Academy literally can open up the entire history of human civilization at a student’s fingertips. And because it’s tailored to an individual’s needs, the individual learns faster. Or so we’re told. But anyway, this is definitely not the most popular opinion among teacher and educator unions therefore, I believe until the time eventually comes where we have no choice but to take technology into the classrooms as teachers, I suppose we’ll keep things as they are. Like Issac, “I am on the boat of if it ain’t broke don’t fix it”. Or at least, try not break it anymore.

  16. I think I have always thought that the school system is outdated but this video only confirmed that even more. When seeing all the advancements in technology and comparing it to schools where no advancements have been made at all I was shocked. The most important of advancements has never been made and like the man in the video mentioned that even though students make up 20% of the population they are 100% our future. I think that we do need to change the school system, and I agree with what Jaydalynn said, “As we continue to evolve and advance, our education should move along with it.” A new school system has been long overdue.

  17. This video is not wrong in fact the schooling system does force students to think in a very linear fashion. Do the work, get the grade, and get into whatever college wants you. There is no denying that for the vast majority of schools students are nothing more than a number in a competitive game of who can get the highest. This is not to say all schools function this way and I would definitely like to believe that teachers are forced to play the role as the enforcer of these rules because they are fed a curriculum that they in return feed us. This video doesn’t really provide a solution to the problem it points out which is a pretty big issue in its own right. I feel as though it is apparent already how flawed the education system is now, what we need at this point are innovative solutions to an already existing issue. Perhaps creating curriculum that allows students to focus on the fields of eduction they thrive in would work much better than forcing a future lawyer to take a physic class.
    I mean of course you get complaints rom students that the schooling system is unfair and a waste of time even though that isn’t entirely the truth. I have definitely picked up life long skills that I will be grateful for having in my future. One being the many papers I have written and practice it provides for all the future lab reports I know I will have to write some day. Josh says it well when he states “You should not keep a student trapped teaching them how to multiply when they could be working towards college.” Overall it is safe to say that although the learning system has its flaws, we should make a plan before we decide to change anything to radically.

  18. My thoughts of this video is that I agree with everything the man said. He spoke about the thoughts most students have. He clearly understood the value of education and how greatly it affects our future. It is also very relatable for us, iPoly students, because we are just learning things that most of us have already learned. To be honest, I feel way behind than other students from other high schools.

    I do believe that we need to change the school system. I believe that we should focus on the student’s’ goals and show them what path to take. Not make the student learn things that they will never use in their life. Some students need to learn very completely different things and I believe high school is a good time to lead them in which way to go. Not give them unnecessary information just to waste their time. For example, students spend about seven hours to nine hours in school. One of my teachers said that we spend more time in school than with our families. In the video, the man talks about how we need people with creative, innovative minds. The way the education system is just creating a pattern in the minds of the students and not really focusing in what we actually need in order to succeed. The man also used a fish in a bowl being asked to climb a tree and that fish feeling stupid. Most of the students are asked to do something that is somewhat difficult to comprehend and instead of school helping them improve. Schools are just making the students feel stupid. Just like Alejandra said, “ I believe that we should not be tested on memorization because people like me have trouble memorizing things like birthdays so how would I be able to memorize things like math equations and physics equations?”

    Students should not feel the need to feel in such stress. This is the time to spend time in our career and create human relationships with people with the same interest as us. Not spend countless of nights doing homework, not getting enough sleep, and feel like an idiot just because we can’t grasp subjects like the rest. The education system need to change as soon as possible before it hurts us.

  19. As I watched this video it took me back to when I was a little middle school student waiting to go to high school. I remember how my parents wanted me to go to iPoly because it was different than normal high schools and they believed it would help me in the future due to its focus on group projects and its uniqueness. Now that I am a senior at this school I believe that my parent’s choice to make me attend iPoly was meh for many reasons. Like the video explains, we need people who “Think creatively, innovatively, critically, independently with the ability to connect,” and from my experience I can positively say that iPoly has aided me in learning and mastering those skills, something I think is important in all classrooms and schools. However, what the video fails to capture is the simultaneous importance for the current school system we have. It is true that our school system now leads students to become just a number in a sea full of other numbers, competing for the top spot, but at the same time the classes and subjects taught are what are of importance. I agree with Bruce when he says, “Without the classes I’ve taken I would not have gained my general capabilities. By learning the general system I’m capable of branching off into my own passions.” I believe that overall our school system needs some adjustments as far as creativity and diversity goes but the general knowledge we gain from the subjects we have been taught are a necessity.

  20. I am truly moved by this video and the words that are used to describe today’s outdated education system. The speaker demonstrated the significant difference in things like cars and phones from 150 years ago to modern times. It was made clear to me that just like everything else changes and evolves with time, so should the education system; despite this logic, it has not changed at all. We are currently living in a demanding, fast-paced, and technologically advanced society that relies on the future generations to carry on its practices. However, it is not possible for a changing and advanced society to be so dependent on its future generations if they are being taught with the same rigid education system from 150 years ago. Students are the future, and should not be limited to a routinely structured classroom setting. To truly learn, one must gain experience. In my opinion, the education system will have to sooner than later be able to change its outlook on the typical indoor classroom setting. A modern day school would need to incorporate real life experiences so that its students gain the experience needed to learn material. I agree with Cassandra when she said, “For the betterment of the future, the change to create a better school system must start now.”

  21. In the video “I JUST SUED THE SCHOOL SYSTEM !!!” created by Prince Ea, it shows a person in court with the supposed “Modern School System”. The Modern School System is being sued for not changing. Prince Ea brings some very reasonable points to light. The school system has been the same for 100 years and nothing about it is different but the technologies that some classes use. My point can be proven when Ea shows the 2 different pictures taken in different times approximately “150 years ago”. I never doubted the fact that the school system is old and outdated but if something is showing signs of success then why stop doing that something. It would be a big risk for school systems to change the way they teach because some schools would teach differently then others. For Instance Ipoly is a project based school but almost every other public high school is basic, we are unique and it may have taken a while for students to adjust. I myself took almost an entire school year to get used to the Ipoly ways. I agree with Maryela when she states that this video just confirmed her point. I myself feel this video is just proof of the school system being outdated.

  22. In the video, “I Just Sued the School System” by Prince Ea many thoughts were roaming through my mind while watching the video it really surprised me how the school system hasn’t really changed at all. We see cars and phones, we see the huge difference from a 100 years ago, but then we see a classroom from 100 years ago, and there wasn’t really a huge difference. I believe many students are tired of how the school system is, every day we have to force ourselves to go to school. When some kids outside of the United States wants to go to school because their school system different. They have shorter days and they hardly have homework, they actually want to learn. The school system needs to be changed, eventually students are going to get tired of the same old thing they do every day. If the school system is changed, people could be able to benefit the students better and have bigger impact in their lives. Rather being the person standing up in front of the classroom shouting at us to do this and to do that we, they could actually be doing something different to help benefit the students. I believe the teachers are the ones that are shaping the students of future generations but they are getting paid less. Teachers should be getting paid more because they do so much and have a great impact in our society. I agree with Jose as he stated, “Perhaps creating curriculum that allows students to focus on the fields of education they thrive in would work much better than forcing a future lawyer to take a physic class.”

  23. The school system does have many flaws, the biggest in my opinion is standardized testing. Standardized testing results in having scripted curriculum for the students. Educators now are only teaching students how to pass a test, this restricts creativity and critical thinking in the classroom. These tests are not only ruining the curriculum but ruining students chances to prepare for college or the workforce. How are students going to function normally in society when all they know is how to prepare for a test?

    Prince Ea said in the video, “school is like teaching a fish how to climb a tree”, I chose this quote because i think some schools are leading their students the wrong way. The only way to remedy this is to fix the school system. Hopefully the school system will change for the better and will learn from its mistakes. Like Jaydalynn said,”Students are the future of this nation and if we continue to learn the same way as students from over a hundred years ago, there will never be any changes. We’ll fall into the same mistakes and history will continue to repeat itself.

  24. The video by Prince Ea called, “I JUST SUED THE SCHOOL SYSTEM,” put into the exact words that I have believed for a long time. The junior high/elementary school that I went to was founded on that mentality and it encouraged students to learn in a different way. Even though with all the state regulations and standards they had to meet they were still able to reach students on a different level and that showed every year in their test scores. Sadly, the founder went off the deep end and selfishly caused the school to close, but without that school I wouldn’t have come to Ipoly and wouldn’t be going to the college I’m going to attend. With that teaching mentality, it gave me confidence and encouraged me. At that school I gained the love of reading where they celebrated excellence and creativity and I am so thankful for it.
    In the video, it said, “No two brains are the same,” and that is so true in student’s learning. The passion shown in this video is where everyone should be at this point and I’m surprised the school system still hasn’t been changed even now. So much could have been done by now and to think of all the creative minds we have lost because of it. The school system is the death of creativity and we shouldn’t have waited so long to try to change it. This situation reminds me of past centuries of how society consistently put down women not allowing them to write or read or act or live a full creative life, and it hurts me knowing how many more amazing works of literature and art we could have had if society had a different mentality. Like Jessica said, “Lastly, when he said that students are 20% of our population but 100% of our future, it made me realize that the world now doesn’t need students who know how to do the same things but students who can use their own talents to help the world become a better place.” I hope the school system changes quickly for our sake and for the sake of the future because students are 100% of it.

  25. After watching the video, I find that i agree with a lot of the things the video criticized. Things like grades and standardized tests re things that are not effective. I also agree when Eda says that the school system is outdated. Despite all these things, I can see no better alternative. A customized student experience, in my opinion is too ambitious. The video gave the example of Finland, but can this actually work in the U.S.? The student population of the U.S. is much bigger that may be a problem.
    I agree with Kevin when he says that it is risky.

  26. Price Ea’s video, “ I Just Sued the School System,” shone some light on an issue that focuses on education and its lack of essential change. Personally, I didn’t need to see a video with a lyrical rhyme to realize that there is a much needed change in our current education system. Like many of my classmate, I find that change is necessary as we progress in an ever-changing world. The world we live in today is much more different than it was 150 years ago. For one, we have technology that only keeps improving and whether we like it or not, we can improve along with it or stay behind. Like Romel said, “ I think reform should come through the process of technology.”

    Despite it’s flaws, I also believe that a standard should be set in school. I don’t mind having english, math, science, and history because I know it’s making me a well rounded student. I confess that I’m stronger in some subjects over others but it’s comforting to know that at least I am getting knowledge I wouldn’t otherwise have if I didn’t have the privilege of being born in a first world country. Moreover, I believe that not all failure found in school is due to a old system. As Jaydalynn said, “Students also need to take some responsibility upon themselves and go the extra mile to get most out of their education. “

  27. After viewing the video, “I JUST SUED THE SCHOOL SYSTEM” by Prince Ea, I’ve become inspired to understand that school has become a common regimen produced by instructors that really don’t adapt to students needs in these modern days and instead follow a century old education system that has relatively remained untouched. In most regular schools, teachers attempt to meet the needs of students by following set guidelines that mark the basic needs of students but do not stray from that outline to obtain any custom learning that could potentially lead students to explore their faults. A basic mistake created by the outline of common teaching material is they fail to evolve with time. As expressed in the video, the same teaching created and used back in the days, remains the same today. There has been little to change the methods used in old school systems. Teaching the same subjects, same methodology, and same materialisms
    feel they can. They’ve created the stigma that if you do not succeed in school it is because you have a fault in your conduct and ask why didn’t you put more effort when the questions should be asking why hasn’t the school ensured each student a success in their educational career and pushed them to all receive their necessary education. I believe school systems should change in order for students to better adapt to life. As seen with schools that use a different version of the learning system, they are typically much more engaging and produce a favorable outcome compared to regular schools. This only comes to show that there must be a change in the education system in order to fantasize the ideology that success can be attained for everybody. As Alex V. stated,” Students are the future, and should not be limited to a routinely structured classroom setting”. Students should be able to find and receive assistance in all their gaps in their education.

  28. In the video, “I JUST SUED THE SCHOOL SYSTEM !!!” Prince Ea explains the importance of changing the way the school system works. I think we do need to change the school system. In the very beginning of the video, Prince Ea starts out with this quote, “If you a judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” He says that this is the way school treats students: like they are all the same, are tested all the same way, and expected yield a certain type of result.

    Ea goes on to ask, “Do you realize how many kids relate to that fish? Swimming upstream in class, never finding their gifts, thinking they are stupid, and believing they are useless.” This quote is so evocative because it rings the bell of truth so loudly. Schools aren’t customized for individual student’s learning, student’s need to customize the way they learn to fit the way school is teaching them. And it’s not right.

    He says it’s unfair to test the fish this way because it’s not within the fish’s capabilities. This is true for students. There are different types of students: students who are good with their hands, who enjoy calculating numbers, or writing narratives. It’s unfair for students to be tested the same way on subjects. My views go hand in hand with Nick’s comment, “I believe that the methods and goals of American education should be redirected.”

  29. The video “I JUST SUED THE SCHOOL SYSTEM” by Prince Ea describes how the school system in America is outdated and needs to be reformed. After watching this video, it reignited my frustrations about the school system. The education system is something I have very strong feelings towards, and they are not very positive ones. While some education is better than none, it frustrates me that the system in the United States is only aimed at one type of person and has outgrown it’s purpose.

    We most definitely need to reform the school system, especially since most young people are going to have to get higher education to have a financial future, whether it be good or not. Schools put too much pressure on students. While there is a such thing as a healthy amount of pressure, the school system has gone too far. The emotional damage caused by schools have lead students to become depressed or have anxiety. Too many of my fellow students feel inadequate because of school, and it has left them with mental illnesses and emotional scarring. No child or student should have their limits pushed that far.

    The video by Prince Ea uses the wonderful country of Sweden as an example of an effective school system. Not only are the students allowed to express themselves creatively, but they also have shorter school days. In the U.S., the average school day is about eight hours. Those school days are much too long for a student to effectively store the information they learned. The shorter school days that Sweden implemented allow the students to have time to relax and enjoy their youth. Because of that the students are more alert and responsive in class and are able to learn. Also, the teachers are paid well. In the Swedish society teachers are highly respected and the job market for them is very competitive because everybody WANTS to be a teacher. If the pay for teachers was better in the U.S., we would have more passionate teachers who are happy to work, instead of washed out one who hate working long hours for ungrateful kids.

    The school system definitely needs reform. It has stayed almost completely the same for nearly 150 years, but the world has changed since then. Like Jaydalynn said, “We should be moving forward into the future not jogging in the same place.” But we cannot move forward until we as a country see reform for the education system as a priority. In 2015, the U.S. spent fifty-four percent of its spending on military, while only six percent of it went to education. In order to change for the better we all need to care. So for the present, I too find the education system guilty.

  30. After viewing this video I do absolutely believe we need to change the school system. Modern day schooling looks the same as it did many years ago, nothing’s changed. As stated in the video “Do you prepare students for the future or for the past?” Keeping the same structure the same routine gets dull. We need change in order to improve the future. We have been told all our lives to sit still, listen, and only speak when asked or by the raise of a hand. For eight hours a day we are told what to think, how to act, and what to do. As stated in the video a good educational system would produce students who think creatively, innovatively, critically, and independently with the ability to connect. Our schooling system has been going through a state of Educational Malpractice. Some teachers really do try to cater to their students to learn but really the problem isn’t the teacher it’s the curriculum. Each student has different strengths, needs, ways they think process and learn and yet we are each taught the same thing the same way. We need to get rid of common core and balance it out with other subjects to get students to think more creatively and independently. Standardised tests should be abandoned because we need to focus on collaboration instead of competition. Another point brought up in the video is that teachers have the most important job and yet they are underpaid. As quoted in the video “While students may be 20% of our population they are 100% of our future” which means we have to fix our education now in order to prevent fall in the future. This is why I completely agree with Lindsey when she states “The school system is the death of creativity and we shouldn’t have waited so long to try to change it.” We need to start living in a world where the education system makes the students feel comfortable and confident.

Leave a Reply

