Blog Assignment #21

Hello North House!

I hope you guys had a great weekend and didn’t spend too much time contemplating how we will manage our new roller coaster engineering careers and regular life stuff.

For this week’s blog assignment, ya’ll will be watching a Buzzfeed video titled, “What Is Privilege?” The video shows a range of people participating in a “privilege walk” where they are asked a series of questions regarding societal privilege. The ultimate goal of this activity  is to understand how societal privileges affect everyone differently.

Throughout the video, people state what they think the definition of privilege is or what privilege is to them in their eyes. The definition of privilege is “a special right, advantage, or immunity granted or available only to a particular person or group of people.” Thanks Google. Buzzfeed released a survey, along with a video to see how privileged you are. If you want to “check your privilege” you can click here! I also stumbled upon an article that talks about privilege through the lens of white male and found it quite interesting. You may read it at your leisure. Here it is.

Watch the “What Is Privilege?” video here and answer the prompt below.

Prompt: What is your personal definition of privilege? How has societal privilege affected you personally throughout your lifetime? What position do you think you would end up at during the privilege walk: the front, the middle, or the back? Why?

27 thoughts on “Blog Assignment #21

  1. This is not the first time of hearing or would it be the very last of “check your privilege.” But upon answering the prompt of what is a privilege, it takes a certain amount of strength to not go berserk. Anyhow, I do not agree with this “privilege” talking heard across the nation as it does not apply to me or anyone else in particular. Sure, I’m proud to be a heterosexual cis half-white male. So why should I have guilt over my last name and background? So what if I got 83/100 on the Buzzfeed quiz; sure as hell didn’t mean anything. But enough with this nonsense and ranting. It’s time to take a different approach to this so called, “check your privilege.” As evident from the Time article listed, Why I’ll Never Apologize for My White Male Privilege, Tal Fortgang goes on to exemplify his own personal “privilege” and perfectly states in his own words, “The truth is, though, that I have been exceptionally privileged in my life, albeit not in the way any detractors would have it.” All this shove and push of bickering as to who is privileged in life does take a toll on society as a whole. It’s more like placing fault onto someone else for misgivings in your life.This so called privilege check creates distinctions in different groups of people and division instills. Privilege has nothing to do with life, it’s what you do with your life that matters. If you really want to make the world a better place, how about stop generalizing and assuming others based off their circumstances or skin color. As for the privilege walk, there’s no way I would participate because I see it as petty and non accomplishing.

  2. This video was hardly eye opening to me as a person. I am a heterosexual white male in an upper middle class family. Even though I have privilege, I am not blind to it in the least. For gods sake, I have a tumblr. Every time I log in I see at least one thing telling me I should not be one of these things, or I should feel bad for it at least. They aren’t wrong, exactly, but they aren’t right either. To me, privilege is having something others don’t, and taking it for granted. That could be something as simple as Netflix, or running water. And I know my life has been easier than most. But that doesn’t mean everything was perfect. When I was in the seventh grade, my dad had a stroke on New Years day. He was unable to walk for a week, and unable to return to work for six months. When he did return to work, he stayed for only two months before the strain on him was too great and he had to leave his job. We were barely paying for groceries and gas, living off of a few bucks a week. Eventually the house payments got too high, and we had to abandon our house, with furniture and paperwork still inside of it. Being raised privileged, this was world shattering. But it was still better than some have lived. So I would easily end up at the front of the privilege walk. Maybe not THE front, but very close to the front.

  3. According to google Privilege is “a special right, advantage, or immunity granted or available only to a particular person or group of people.” I believe privilege is having the opportunity to do something or have something while someone else might not. I believe I am privileged, because I know that someone out there will always have it worse than I do. Being mixed, sometimes I do not know where I stand in society. I am half mexican, german, irish, french, and filipino, so what does that make me? Just racially ambiguous? For those who ask what I am, I always respond as: latina, but that is not the entirety of who I am. I define myself as all of the above, because all the different races I am make me, me. Jennifer Calderon asked me “Do you feel like you get an advantage from being connected with so many races, or do you think it’s a disadvantage?” Then I was stumped, I believe it is neither a disadvantage nor an advantage because being ethnically diverse puts me in a separate category, not amongst one single race 100%. I have come to a point in my life where I am proud to be everything I am. In a sense, I am privileged to be able to identify as all of them. I agree with Jennifer Calderon when she will say “Life experiences have always conceived situations to bring people to feel they have certain restrictions compared to others.” After a great deal of contemplation I believe I would stand in the middle of the privilege walk, as a result of both my multicultural background, and where my parents stand in society.

  4. A special right, advantage, or immunity granted or available only to a particular person or group of people, a definition given directly from the internet. My definition is rights I was able to receive from circumstances given to me from my upbringing. I am not one to show I am more privileged or underprivileged than others, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t there or relevant. Life experiences have always conceived situations to bring people to feel they have certain restrictions compared to others.

    In my experience, I’ve witnessed others have the ability to pursue something that I didn’t have the resources to pursue and thus, these restrictions has brought my personality to evolve through the effect of my race. But with this, I feel the more restrictions given, the more chances to find opportunity to change are found.

    In my present position, i cannot define my reasons for feeling underprivileged from other people. But understanding that situations would bring me to feel underprivileged because of my race, will always be known to me. I always have the ability to know that even though my race may be seen as a disadvantage, at some extent it has the potential to become an advantage. As Kenneth said, “Privilege has nothing to do with life, it’s what you do with your life that matters”. I believe this quote has much relevance. Thinking that your life is only limited to what you have been given and what ethnicity you are, is a huge understatement and will not be the only thing that dictates your life.

  5. To be “privileged” suggests that an individual has certain opportunities that others do not; in a manner of sense, it also implies favor or supremacy. Though this subject is eluded in many cases, it is greatly evident nationwide. According to The Stanford Review, “Only 1.2% of all Fortune 500 CEOs are Black and the United States Senate has only two Black senators.” Why is this so? Is it the color? Ethnicity? Gender? Personality? The list is infinite.

    Honestly, I do not recall any incident where societal privilege affected my personal being, but it has affected my parents – especially my dad. After resigning from his previous job, he applied to Johnnie Bryan Hunt Transport Services (J.B. Hunt). Unluckily, he was denied because he was not able to speak English. Though the English language is crucial in the United States, it was insensitive to reject an average Guatemalan male due to their preferred language. Yet, in spite of it, he was not discouraged.

    If I were to attempt the “privilege walk,” I believe I would end up in the middle. I am not as unprivileged as to be in the back, nor am I as privileged contrariwise. Kenneth A. stated it best when he wrote that the “privilege walk” was “petty and non accomplishing.” Without a doubt, I am equivalent to every other human being. The only issue is that society deprives the capabilities bestowed upon every individual through fear.

  6. Privilege is a complicated topic in itself which most people do not even realize they “have”. It is having the opportunities or rights to something that not everyone may have, yet it is also something people do not fully have control over. It allows certain individuals or groups to be exempt from unquestionable situations and possibly obtain benefits from it. Anything could be a privilege if you allow/make it. In most cases, privilege tends to revolve around race, when it should not even matter in the first place.

    When it comes down to my own personal experiences, I really do not have any specific moments that I remember where I was deeply affected by societal privilege, however I have definitely seen it happens to others. It is usually minor things that I have faced, like “Oh, you can do this because you are Asian, you can’t do that, or you have this because…” As Jennifer C. states, “I am not one to show I am more privileged or underprivileged than others, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t there or relevant.” to which I agree. If only people treated one another the same since we are all HUMAN beings, then everyone would have “privilege” or it probably would not even exist. It is only a problem because we continue to make it one.

    If I were to have participated in the “privilege walk”, I would most likely end up somewhere in the middle. In BuzzFeed Yellow’s “What is Privilege?” video, I related most to Justin Tan. He stated, “It’s interesting being an Asian-American because you’re not really sure where you fall on the spectrum of privilege.” and that is exactly how I feel since I am aware that I have privileges, but to a certain extent.

  7. In the wise words of master orator DMX, “Y’all goin’ make me lose my mind up in heah. Up in heah.'” I won’t go on a rage induced verbal tirade today out of respect for Mrs.Edwards’ request, but believe me I am holding back a considerable amount of rage that is as we speak manifesting itself into a massive brain tumor. Instead, I’ll answer the prompt.

    Because for me answering what defines privilege is relatively simple. For me, privilege -relative to us Americans- is growing up in the lower-middle to high income bracket. Privilege to me is having the ability to make mistakes without losing something vital, such as a home or car. Privilege is growing up in a sustainable home environment with hopefully at least one person who is invested in your personal and successful growth into adulthood.

    Now, yes I did not grow up exactly within my parameters of privilege for part of my life but I don’t make it a focal point of my being. Growing up in Los Angeles, California there is not a single room within a one-mile radius that has less than two different races, or backgrounds, or incomes. As a result, I’ve always felt comfortable. Has privilege helped with that? Well, I think the better question to ask is: are people who feel non-privileged any worse off than me? For my money, I would say that at least here in California, 90% the answer is no. Because like Kenneth says, “Privilege has nothing to do with life, it’s what you do with your life that matters.”

    And let’s say that for the moment that a privilege walk is actually a useful measure of society and not the fever dreams of a victimized bunch of whiny brats who believe that feeling virtuous is more important than actually being virtuous. Well, I’d have to say I’d probably be somewhere in the middle-front relative to my peers and probably in the middle-back relative to America as a whole.

  8. The video that was provided for us talked about the different ideas or view points of privilege. There was people gathered who were asked questions about themselves or things that happened in their lifetime and if it applied to them they would either take a step back or step forward. The prompt we were asked today was define our own meaning of privilege. Some may say it is something that some are able to do and that other may not. For example, my friends go out every weekend, but my parents do not let me go out, and because of that, my friends have privileges unlike me. In other cases, it is not necessarily being able to do things, but items we feel valuable than others. We this a lot with our phones, where one friend can get the new phone every time it comes out and the other friend is stuck with a phone from 2014. My point here is that the idea of privilege is where group A is allowed to do things and buy things where group B is the opposite.

    Personally, my idea of being privileged has changed because of society. There have been times where I thought I didn’t have “X” type of privileges like my friends. But it came to a point where I visited the Philippines and saw what was happening a third world country. That idea of not being able to buy the new things became a complete blur when I saw the kids out on the street, no home, asking for money, and trying to survive. Because of that, I started to realize that I wasn’t privileged, but blessed. I think today, we should get rid of that idea of being privileged and just be blessed with what we have and what can do.

    Lastly, I don’t want to say I am privileged in any position, but blessed with the things I have around me. Like Jaydalynn B. said in her response, “Privilege is a complicated topic in itself which most people do not even realize they “have”.” There are some who don’t care what they have and then there are others who think they don’t have anything and that they want more things. So what is the meaning of privilege? No, just scratch that idea and be blessed with what you have.

  9. Privilege.To someone like me who has it, it’s often invisible until someone else points it out. When I used to hear, the word privileged, my mind would automatically go to the characters in Gossip Girl or those apart of the Real Housewives franchise. I always thought privilege referred to wealth, but it’s really about the social benefits some people receive over others.

    Although, I respect Kenneth’s opinion about privilege – I do not agree. For example, a white, heterosexual male can be a Republican or Democrat, no questions asked. It doesn’t matter which party they affiliate with because of their background. However, if someone like me, a heterosexual Mexican-American were to be a proud member of the Republican party it would be met with many of questions and comments. Privilege is the little things like this.

    Some might say that I am not one to talk about privilege, I scored relatively high on the Buzzfeed “Check your Privilege” quiz and would probably fair well if I were to participate in the “Privilege Walk.” I have had very few instances where I was reminded that my privilege is less than others because my Mexican and Filipino heritage. However, my ties to my “heritage” have been washed away over time. I have grown accustomed to peers telling me, “If I were blind, I’d think you’re white.” There is practically nothing to tie me to my born race/ethnicities other than the color of my skin. My family has indirectly pushed themselves away from their roots. I often forget I am what I am because there is such a lack connection, but there have been times where I was reminded that I will be looked at differently by society no matter what I do, because of the color of my skin.

    One summer, I was at Bloomingdales trying on swim trunks for what used to be my family’s annual trip to Maui. I vividly remember proudly walking to the register, cash in hand, about to make the purchase. As the saleswoman handed me my bag, she said “Nice – Ralph Lauren, but remember to wear sunscreen so you don’t get any darker,” I walked out feeling mortified, embarrassed – vulnerable. Surely that is not a comment made to all customers!

    For a good portion of time, I was ignorant to the fact that privilege existed. For instance, one Sunday my family and I decided to have brunch at one of my parent’s favorite date spots in Malibu; it was the same day that I dined two feet from Sarah Michelle Gellar and Freddie Prinze Jr. – but it was also the day I said something that till this day disgusts me. When you take I-10 West towards Santa Monica you drive through downtown, and it’s there where you hit the I-10/I-110 interchange. When we were in the car I made the comment, “that’s the freeway you take to the ghetto and that’s where the ghetto people live.” My parents were appalled at my remark, but it was the result of my situation. My privilege allowed me to be ignorant of the real issues and to make ill informed comments like that.

    I am no longer blind to privilege. It reminds us that we’re humans – that we should be kind to one another. It’s a constant reminder to always strive for equality. And if you do not think that privilege exists, then congratulations, because you’re enjoying a benefit of it.

  10. Personally, I think being privileged is great. Every month, I get two checks in the mail; one for being white, and one for being male. The law doesn’t apply to me, so I can do whatever I like, and I never have to worry about having my opinion discredited for the color of my skin!

    Or so I would like to say. Unfortunately, things don’t exactly work that way.

    It seems that whenever the subject of privilege is brought up, the discussion quickly becomes a pit-fight of people trying to prove they’re the “most oppressed” until someone comes out on top. This new, self-proclaimed “ruler of the pity-party” will then be granted the divine right to whine and complain while everyone else has to feed the new king’s ego. That is, lest they be beheaded, er, I mean discredited, and labeled a bigot, or racist, or whatever choice of buzzword found alluring in the current situation. It has an amazing likeness to the games children might play on the playground. The imaginative ones, where it quickly becomes a competition to see who can best stretch the rules to cater their interests.

    As for my personal definition of privilege, or at least for the bastardization of the term frequently used today, Kenneth A. stole the words out of my mouth when he said “It’s more like placing fault onto someone else for misgivings in your life.” I believe the modern use of the word “privilege” is yet another excuse for cowardice, and to justify hypocrisy and prejudice. Don’t get me wrong though, I have no problem with other people’s prejudice. You would be incredibly naive to expect anything but. Having judgement and exercising it is a very healthy practice. If someone told me they didn’t hold an ounce of prejudice, I would think them either a liar or a dimwit. The mind is very good at creating schemas based on previous encounters, and categorizing new experiences into these schemas. This process helps us humans immensely. Without it, we would never know what to expect, and every new situation would be completely alien to us, inducing a paralyzing fear of the unknown every time we encountered the slightest change in routine. That said, although schemas are very useful, only a fool would lack the insight that sometimes we get it wrong. Judgement is a delicate balance between two deadly pitfalls: ignorance and overgeneralization. By all means, consider behavior from someone who seems capable of it, but don’t count on it.

    Now, onto the topic of me, me, me: as a cisgendered, heterosexual, white male, I somehow got a score of 45 on the test. How did I do it? Surely I must have cheated! Amazingly, my comfort in life has never come from my skin color, or (with a few exceptions) what I have in my pants. Most of the comforts I can enjoy today have come from an appreciation of pain, and a helpful serving of luck. Without getting into too much detail, my life would be much harder now if my birthmother had not passed away early on. Although I remember her very fondly, and I regret her passing more and more each day, I admit that life was not a very promising one. However, although I am very thankful for everything I have now, if I could choose I would much rather brave all of that suffering for a life with her around. But enough of that. Boo hoo. Things happened the way they did, and there’s nothing to be done about it now besides bite my lip as some meek, whiney, nu-male types up on his $800 iPad a lengthy history lesson on why I am privileged because some other white people (that probably didn’t get along with my race of white people too well) bought and enslaved the same slaves that african warlords used and sold to everyone else in the world. As for where I would supposedly stand in the abhorrent “privilege walk”, I would choose no where else but the very front, so that I may get the best audience as I do a little dance, and extend both of my middle fingers as far up to the sky as they will go.

    Now that would be my privilege.

  11. In response to Channel’s post, I define privilege as “a special right that a person or set of people believe they deserve”. Societal privilege has affected my world a lot recently, due to the recent presidential election it feels as though the county is racially divided and tensions have risen. I have heard the term “white privilege” a lot recently, and being raised in a hispanic upbringing I have noticed that my life has not had the same excitement as someone who makes millions. I took the “How Privileged Are You?” quiz that Chanel had left and scored a 42 out of 100 aka “Not Privileged”. Had I taken a privilege walk I believe I would have ended up roughly in the middle. Some factors that make me privileged are my sexual orientation, the county I live in, and the amount resources I have at at my disposal. However, the things that hold me back from being at the front are; being hispanic, female, and financial income. I admire the statement Jenifer C made, “But with this, I feel the more restrictions given, the more chances to find opportunity to change are found.”, because it is true. It is up to those whom are underprivileged to make a difference.

  12. Privilege is an elevated status, the opposite of oppression. After taking the test on Buzzfeed I realized I have a fair amount of advantages but at the same time I never knew I lost specific opportunities for unchangeable reasons . Those who are privileged gain a social advantage such as not conflicting with the struggles of racism, sexism, or homophobia. It is a fact and is commonly seen day to day. We treat certain people a certain way because we are conditioned by the system to judge an individual based on how they appear on the surface. The concept of privilege is hard to distinguish. The way we interact with it is completely subconscious and it is a hard topic to initiate during conversation.

    The video, “What is Privilege?” urged the participants to come face to face with their privilege by asking a set of questions regarding societal privilege. If I were to participate in the privilege walk I would find myself in the middle. I choose to go to college, I never worried about going hungry or the possibility of losing my house, and I have the allowance to afford new clothes and brand new technology. At the same time I am a minority in the United States. I wish I can see a representation of my race throughout the media and I would like it if my actions are not dissected because of the generalizations behind my race and gender. Jaydalynn B. said, “Anything could be a privilege if you allow/make it.” In a perfect world we will all treat each other equally but this is not a perfect world. Privilege is alive and present and if popular companies such as Buzzfeed are encouraging people to come face to face with their blessings then maybe we can change our discourse and see a development in society.

  13. My goodness I enjoyed the video “What is Privilege,” by Buzzfeed very much. It was thought provoking and brought me back to reality. Buzzfeed did a great job in again performing a social experiment that speaks for itself. Having a variety of people from a variety backgrounds set the stage. Everyone stood on that white chalked line, and as each question was presented they moved. Everyone ended up in a different spot, and it really did prove its point; some people are more privileged than others. It should have been, but was not surprising that the black gay women took steps back instead of forward. She is a minority within a minority within a minority.

    At about two minutes and forty seconds one of the participants explains her experience taking steps forward. She explains, “You want to hold onto and explain a certain privilege.” My interpretation of that statement may or may not be what she was getting at. There are certain privileges we have that we worked for. I would agree that there would be a tendency to justify a step forward. I would want the people around me to know, that the step I took was not given to me and I do not take it for granted. On that same note, there are so many privileges to keep up with. I would say it is silly to keep each person accountable for their privileges, because we really don’t know how many privileges we have till we compare our lives to others. I do believe it is important than we never complain.

    As social privilege affected my life? Most likely. It would be hard to explain each thing that has made my life easier than others though and while that may be true it is really up to people. In my family at least, we never believed certain people have better chances than others. It’s all about hard work. Some say that because I am a “light skin hispanic” my life will be easier than a “dark skin hispanic.” Truthfully I think that is pathetic. Like Kenneth stated before me, “Privilege has nothing to do with life, it’s what you do with your life that matters.” I have had some privileges and I have not had some. On the privilege walk I’d probably be somewhere in the middle. Life has been good to me, but not without challenges. I don’t believe life will just hand me everything I deserve and need.

  14. I believe privilege is what you are born with. As if what you were given the moment you were born. I remember my father telling me when I was young “alex You came into this world with only your word and your balls break your word and you break your balls”. We are all born with different privileges. Some people are born with a wealthy family some born with amazing athletic skills or academic or even people skills that makes opportunities for them that others don’t have. Even a race or religion is a privilege to be born into. However I sometimes think what we don’t think is a privilege actually is a privilege.

    I am a half white Jew and half Latino boy who could pass for white. There have been times where being a “white boy” has gotten out of some stupid incidents. However I’ve also been told to go back to Mexico and have been called a “dirty beaner”. As well as bullied and ridiculed for being a Jew many times. Even though I identify as an atheist I still love my Jewish heritage.

    I believe at the end of the privilege walk I’d be in the middle. I grew up with a mom who worked all night and went to school all day and a step dad who would work all day and be drunk the rest of the time. I was embarrassed of my house growing up until we moved when I was just going to freshmen year. There are more reasons of why I believe I’d be in the middle but I’d rather talk about why I’m not in the way back.

    I did have roof over my head. I did have a mom who worked her ass off. I did have grandparents who love and supported me. I did have food on my table. I did have drinking water. I had many privileges that many others I know didn’t have. And I know many who have way more privileges than I had. But why focus on what I didn’t have when I can work hard so my kids can have what I didn’t and appreciate what I didn’t. Finally I agree with Romel when he says “Privilege to me is having the ability to make mistakes without losing something vital, such as a home or car. Privilege is growing up in a sustainable home environment with hopefully at least one person who is invested in your personal and successful growth into adulthood.” Because I had my grandparents and my crazy mom I feel extremely privileged.

  15. As a kid, I did not have to walk hours just to go to school at the age of eleven, I did not have to quit my education at 8th grade to support my little brothers and sister, and I certainly did not have to get a low class job to bring some money to the table. Because I did not have to do what my dad did as a kid, I consider myself privileged. I may not be wealthy like other kids but if I’m hungry, I simply open the refrigerator. If I’m cold, I turn on the heater or turn on the AC if I’m hot. If my shoes do not fit, the my parents are suitable to buy me another pair.
    I believe most of us are privileged, its just that we do not know it. Yes, some people may be more privileged than others but we shall not make them feel bad for being privileged. We live in a country full of possibilities and if that person parents are rich, we should simply congratulate them for their parents hard work. We also get to choose our life and what we want to make out of it and I consider that as a privileged. Alex supports my statement best when he said ” I believe privileged is what you are born with.”
    Like many others, I will probably end up in the middle of the privilege walk. Growing up I did not have to deal with tough challenges and decisions for survival. My parents told me how lucky I was that discrimination is better today than it was when my parents were in the United States. My Grandma also mentioned that before my time, Hispanics were only considered as farmers which my parents said was difficult work. Hours in the sun, bent over for long periods of time, and sometimes at the end of the day your hands are all messed up. This is why I consider myself privileged.

  16. In my opinion, privilege is both something people can be born with and also certain rights and opportunities that not everyone around you may have. In many ways privilege is something that cannot be controlled, for example where you were born and what race you are may lend you to either have more privilege or less privilege in societies eyes. As for me, I have never really been affected personally by societal privilege but I have seen others affected by it. I grew up in a loving household where my dad worked and my mom took care of me, I have always had a roof over my head and food on the table, anytime I needed something I got it. There has never really been an instance where I felt like because of my situation or race or any other factor, that I did not have certain opportunities or rights. But everything I experienced in life was definitely not handed to my family or myself on a nice little plate, it was through hard work and effort that got us to this point. Like Josh described in his post, “I started to realize that I wasn’t privileged, but blessed. I think today, we should get rid of that idea of being privileged and just be blessed with what we have and what we can do.” I agree with Josh because in the end privilege is only an issue if we make it one, so I choose to look at it as being blessed with what I have.

  17. My personal definition of privilege is having the opportunity to have certain opportunities that others may not have. Saying you’re privileged has never been something bad to me and the way people have been throwing around the phrase “check your privilege” has turned into a joke as shown in the recent South Park season. Being privileged is not something to be ashamed of, it boils down to how you treat others do you laugh at homeless people? Do you think you’re better than anyone else because you have money? Do you tempt someone begging for money and drive off when they reach out for your bill? Those basic ideas to me are the people in the wrong especially if you answer yes to any of them. I realize I am privileged maybe not as privileged as Kanye’s or Beyonce’s kids but never the less I am privileged. I would argue that everyone at iPoly is privileged to be able to go to a school like ours. A safe environment where anyone can really be themselves without being judged or discriminated against. I am sure there are kids who wished they could say the same thing but the reality is they can’t they would be ridiculed and their lives could even be in danger. We at iPoly have all gotten this far in life with someone to be there and care for us whether a grandparent, aunt, uncle, sibling, mother, or father we had someone again another privilege other people would not be able to say they had. Romel said it best,“Privilege is growing up in a sustainable home environment with hopefully at least one person who is invested in your personal and successful growth into adulthood.” According to the Buzzfeed survey, I scored a 66 out of 100 so I am in the mid-upper line. I scored this because I know I am privileged, I have my own car! How many people can say they had their own car at the age of 18 I am in no positions to say that I have had a harder time than most because I know there are people struggling with so much more than not having a car.

  18. I believe that privilege is a positive thing that a person is born with in their life, but I also think a person can gain privileges by working hard for them. Just like Kenny said, “We also get to choose our life and what we want to make out of it and I consider that as a privileged.”
    Growing up in California I have become accustomed to having drinking water and a roof over my head and seeing that a normal thing for everyone not really a privilege, but what I didn’t think about the many families around the world that do not live such a luxurious lifestyle. Those other families see drinking water and a roof as a privilege. I believe that I would be considered middle-front; I believe that I have had many privileges in my life and may have been more fortunate than others growing up.

  19. In response to the video, “What is privilege,” my definition of privilege is having extra things that aren’t essential and that make you not have to wonder how you will be able to “just get by.” By those standards I do have privilege. I do have extra things that I probably don’t need that make me privileged, but by no means were my parents privileged. Society makes it seem like generation after generation of white households are always privileged, but that’s not true for everyone and by putting a label on it separates society even further. Like Kenneth said, “This so called privilege check creates distinctions in different groups of people and division instills.” If everybody is supposed to be equal then why does the family paycheck at the end of the day matter? My father was born in the Philippines by poor missionaries that had nothing and my mom was raised by a widow since she was 6 who worked night and day to provide for her family. My mom and dad both put themselves through college to make a better life for themselves and we all have had struggles. Now I am extremely grateful to live in a comfortable home with a family that loves me and if that’s privileged then hate me for it, but the people that may be more privileged than others worked hard to get where they are.

  20. My personal definition of “privilege” means having benefits that not everyone may have. I agree with Benji’s definition of “privilege” when he states, “In a manner of sense, it also implies favor or supremacy”. Societal privilege has not affected me personally, therefore; when Chris states, “Privilege.To someone like me who has it, it’s often invisible until someone else points it out” I could not help but to relate.

    Although societal privilege has never affected me personally, it did it affect my Grandma. My Grandma immigrated to United States from Mexico, and of course it came with many challenges. My Great Grandfather had to work extremely hard to bring all of his eleven children to the United States in order to establish a better life. When my family arrived in the United States, they were poverty stricken. As a result, they were not given the privileges that many Americans had.

    After taking the “How Privileged Are You?” quiz that Chanel provided, I scored “Quite Privileged” which I expected. Therefore, I think my position at the end of the privilege walk would be towards the front. I relate to Samara when she states, “Everything I experienced in life was definitely not handed to my family or myself on a nice little plate, it was through hard work and effort that got us to this point”. My parents have worked hard all their lives to get our family to where we are now, and I am extremely grateful for that. I live in a middle-class family filled with love and support, which is why I consider myself privileged.

  21. Privilege is such a complex topic that there is not just one or two definitions. I believe privilege is having the opportunity to do something someone else can’t do, or having something that somewhere in the world, someone wishes they could have. I agree with Kenny when he said, “I believe most of us are privileged, it’s just that we do not know it.” I think this is a very strong statement because there are people who do not think they are privileged, because they do not have the most expensive things, but they have a roof over their head and food to eat. As to where I would end up at during the privilege walk, I would end up around the middle. I know that although I am not the most privileged, but I have grown up with a privileged life. My parents have told me stories about their lives in El Salvador, and it makes me realize how grateful I have to be for the things I do have.

    I have never really been affected by societal privilege, but my parents have. They both came from El Salvador in their teenage years, having to attend school not knowing any English was tough for them. They were both discriminated while growing up, but that has never really been the case for me. As to where I would end up at during the privilege walk, I would end up around the middle.

  22. Privilege is like a monster in the closet. For some of us, it is as real as the floor we are standing on while for others, it is a foolish thing that prevents us from going to sleep. Either way, we try to convince ourselves that as long as we don’t acknowledge it, we’ll outgrow it and it’ll cease to exist. Still, there comes a time where it’s best to talk about the problem rather than labeling it off as yet another thing humans want to complain about.

    Privilege, in what I’ve learned about it, has to do with the social benefits some receive over others. The way I was taught about the subject was though an example I still think is very fitting: there are two people. One is born in a safe neighborhood with the protection and support of their family. The other is born and raised in a rough neighborhood with their single mother. One goes to a school with other children that have similar drives to succeed and goals, including going to a good college. The other goes to a school that is overfilled with students who may or may not graduate high school and yet that doesn’t discourage them from going to college. Both end up in college. They are both determined and hardworking. They graduate and apply for the same job position. They both are very qualified. One has a father who is close friends with the employer while the other doesn’t. The one with the connection gets the job. The other continues to search for a job. They eventually do get a job. They live out their lives. They both accomplished their goals. The difference? One had to face and overcome certain hardships to get where they are. Kenneth stated, “It’s what you do with your life that matters.” I agree with his statement because it’s obvious that without any effort and drive to get somewhere, we’ll end up nowhere. I am a great believer in going after what we want. Nevertheless, I also believe that there are factors that can either push or pull me from getting where I want to go. Am I going to let that stop me from accomplishing my goals? No, of course not but that doesn’t make those factors any less real.

    The example I mentioned before isn’t hypothetical. It is real. There are millions of people being either person one or person two. Whether they were Caucasian, African American, Latino, or Asian isn’t the point. I am well aware that there are white people who have gone through many hardships. Who hasn’t at one point gone through hardship whether financial, emotional, mental or physical? We are all human and it’s part of life. Still, if we look at the facts, minorities have less access to jobs and other opportunities to better themselves. They are dependent on governmental support at higher rates. Their children have lower rates in pursuing higher education. When we take that into consideration, it’s not hard to think of the term “white privilege”.

    If I were to do the privilege walk, I’d probably be towards the middle. I’m not in a position to say that I’m being deeply affected by my race, religion, sexual orientation, or income bracket. I was fortunate enough to be born in a state that is known for its diversity, so as Romel said, “I’ve always felt comfortable.” Still, I feel it my duty to say something on the respect of this matter for those who do feel the effects of privilege at a deeper degree than I do.

  23. I have never been one to deny that I have lived a privileged and protected life. Never do I find myself wondering when my next meal might be and I’ve always had the opportunity to achieve just as much as the next person. If I had to say what I feel like my greatest privilege is that I live with every day without truly noticing, its that I’m a man. White man or not, men still have an unjust advantage not only in the work place but in somehow deciding what rights should belong to women and what rights should not. Privilege in my eyes is anything past knowing that the people I care about are in no immediate harm and are in good health. Truly no matter what way we look at it, privileged or not, it is real and it follows us around like a hungry stray dog. When Kenneth states that “privilege checks create distinctions in different groups and division instills more” I feel like the statement is missing some key points. Realizing our differences in privilege is not what causes division. What causes division is when we are given certain opportunities based on the color of our skin, our sexual orientation, and our gender. I believe its important to know how privileged we are. Understand how much you have to be grateful for and strive to overcome the hurdles that lie before you.

  24. Having read through the definitions of privilege that my peers have come up with, I had a bit of difficulty coming up with my own. What I have realized is that privilege is a concept that is relative to various circumstances, which makes it difficult to declare a definitive definition. For example, I am not as privileged as the kids my age who are born into wealthy families, attend top notch college preparatory high schools, and who may even buy their way into Ivy League schools. In the eyes of a kids my age living in a third world country, I am very privileged; I get to live in a house with easily accessible running water, temperature control, and electricity.

    Although many may not be aware of their societal privileges, they do have an impact on the way that we perceive life. Personally, my social privileges have had a positive impact on the way that I live my life. I have been blessed with parents who are able to provide me with my needs and wants. Most recently, they have bought me a car that I can drive until college. I am very grateful to my parents for that, but it also makes me think of what a privilege that was for them to have bought me a car. Admittedly, I do feel guilty or unworthy of a brand new car when I think about the many kids my age that do not have parents who cannot afford to provide them with a car. On the flip side, I also think about the kids my age who are more privileged than I am, and can afford to buy their own six million dollar home in Hidden Hills [Kylie Jenner].

    If I participated in the privilege walk, I would expect that I would end up in the middle. However, I would not be able to predict my position in comparison to the other people participating in the same walk, as I stated before that the concept of privilege is relative. I agree with Josh when he said in his blog post, “I don’t want to say I am privileged in any position, but blessed with the things I have around me.” Ultimately, privilege is something that a person is born into, and is a concept that will forever categorize human beings into social classes.

  25. I believe privilege is advantages or benefits not everyone can have. My definition is the same as Romel’s,” Privilege is growing up in a sustainable home environment with hopefully at least one person who is invested in your personal and successful growth into adulthood.” For me, I live a privileged life, I have the support of my family and a roof over my head, I never experienced or was ever affected by societal privilege but my parents did. My parents work hard to get to where they’re at and I’m grateful for that. My parents came to this country with nothing but the clothes on their back. In Cambodia they barely had food and clean drinking water, coming here to America was a privilege to them. It was hard for them to adjust to a new country but they were driven to start a new life here in America, they took every opportunity that was given to them. Where I stand in the privilege walk is border line between the middle and the front. I live quite a privilege and I owe it all to my parents. I hope to follow in their footsteps.

  26. I think privilege is being entitled to something or things that other people aren’t entitled to. But I definitely don’t think privilege is a bad thing. The way I see it is that some people are going to be on the top and some people are going to be on the bottom. I just think that’s the reality of life. But I also don’t think that means we just give up on those people at that bottom. I believe that privilege is something that people should aware no matter which end of the spectrum they’re on. I think no matter where you are the privilege scale, you can always find someone that has had it worse than and someone that has had it easier than you. But I also think that we have to keep in mind that this can for a variety, not just privilege. If I did the privilege walk I think I would end up somewhere in the middle.
    I agree with Nick to an extent. He says that there is no privilege and life is about hard work. I agree life is about hard work but I do think privilege is real. It’s not the key factor to success but sure as hell makes it easier for those that have it.

  27. I agree with alex when he says, “We are all born with different privileges.” Privilege is the intricate system which has made its unwanted appearance in human society. It is the ability or inability of a person based on external sources, and more uncommonly internal. No matter what you do some privileges are completely inaccessible unless acted upon externally, though there are privileges which you can work for. It is undeniable that with money and power comes privilege.
    My opinion of myself is that I am extremely privileged, though this was not always the case. In the past my family was poor, this affected me in terms of general living. Health-wise, Shelter-wise, and Society-wise. My parents’ work to bring us up the class ladder has taught me to perceive life with more gratitude. I was also a little ugly introvert throughout life, I haven’t had many friends growing up. I received little to no attention from society before, so I am sometimes skeptical of the intent of those who approach me. Only recently have I even discovered the affection of the female gender(not saying I know the male one…). It’s always interesting to reunite with a girl who had once ignored me with disgust. In general I believe I have become extremely privileged overtime, I have endless opportunities which so many do not.
    If we did that exercise today I would most likely be up front and at minimum the middle. This is because my race isn’t discriminated against, I am very well of, and I have incredible opportunities.

Leave a Reply

