Blog #19

Hello North House!

For this week’s blog post I wanted to provide a little bit of background information and fun facts in a fun video that is not short so don’t wait til the last minute like me.

SPOILER WARNING: Do Not watch the video until Tuesday when we finish the reading and the movies in class if you don’t want it spoiled.

The video describes 10 different “Notes” or fun facts about the book Pride and Prejudice, that give insight, background knowledge, and expands different thoughts about the book.

Prompt: So in a similar way, chose your favorite “Note,” one of the top ten things mentioned from the video, and expand on it. What you liked about it? If you disagree with something they said. What you thought they should have added? What is your favorite character and why? Do you think the video depicted the characters correctly?

SPOILER WARNING: Do Not watch the video until Tuesday when we finish the reading and the movies in class if you don’t want it spoiled.

Good Day North House.

7 thoughts on “Blog #19

  1. Since the term “economy” came into existence, wealth has been a vital necessity for prosperity in this world. According to the video, “Top 10 Notes: Pride and Prejudice,” the author addresses the concept of wealth during the late eighteenth century.

    England’s society was divided into three distinct classes: the landed gentry, the middle, and the lower. In simple terms, the landed gentry were the rich; they owned much land and earned a vast amount of income, up to 32,000 pounds per year. The middle class were the laborers; their income consisted of approximately fifty pounds, affording enough to acquire a decent living. Furthermore, the lower class were the poor; they were housed in building workhouses, and work was scarce.

    Thus, Mrs. Bennet’s character was created. She was portrayed as a greedy, ostentatious mother, who seemed to care more about wealth rather than the happiness of her daughters. In spite of her selfishness, her egocentric, yet comical nature was reasonable. Considering the fact that she had five daughters, it was ignominious if none married and all became “old maids.” Hence, to reply to Lindsey’s question, in the film, I thoroughly believe Mrs. Bennet’s character was displayed flawless.

  2. After watching the video, Top 10 Notes: Pride and Prejudice, I would have to say that my favorite note would have to be the male protagonist Mr. Darcy. Even though he seems a to be nothing more than a self-centered rich fellow, deep down he has a pure heart. He is just a person who is misunderstood, he was betrayed by the one man he thought was his brother, Mr. Wickham, which has caused him to keep a guard up with the new people he meets.
    I don’t disagree with anything that the video said about Mr. Darcy because, he seems to be detached and self-centered but that is all because, he was betrayed and would have a tough time with trusting others. A few things they should have added is how Mr. Darcy and Miss Eliza Bennet were perfect for each other even though they did not see it for themselves and why Mr. Darcy was the way he was as an adult.
    For my favorite character, I would have to say Mr. Darcy. Besides the fact that he is a very handsome young man, his morals come from the heart. He would do anything for the people he loves and would stop at nothing to protect his sister. He may seem like the hardest character to love, like Mrs. Bennet and Lydia with their squeaky voices, but once you can see past his tough exterior, he is a wonderful man.
    The video did do a great job of depicting Mr. Darcy and Eliza but I feel they should have explained the role of her parents more and what her father truly meant to Eliza. The mother just a crazy lady who wanted wealth within the family, but I believe her father gave her that right of mind and that is why Eliza isn’t like the rest of her sister.

  3. The video, “Top 10 Notes: Pride and Prejudice” creates a list of the best aspects about the featured Jane Austen novel. My favorite note mentioned in the video would have to be Note #7: Plot. This note basically summarizes the plot of the entire book in four simple sentences.

    I liked Note #7 because it’s the basic summary that sells the book. I feel like if someone asked me what “Pride and Prejudice” was about and I gave them that four sentence summary. It would leave them intrigued, encourage them to ask questions about the characters, and curious about how it all plays out.

    I didn’t necessarily disagree with anything they said in Note #7, or in any of the notes in the video, but I feel as if they left out a lot of important details in Note #6 and Note #5. Note #6 is entitled, “The Female Protagonist: Elizabeth Bennet” and gives a couple of details about Elizabeth’s character. The video says that she’s the second eldest of five daughters, pretty, twenty years old, clever, shares a sense of humor with her father, and judgemental towards other people’s idea of marriage. I just feel that this description doesn’t do her character enough justice. What about selfless, protective, and compassionate for the way she cares for her family? Witty and independent for the way she stands up for herself and is confident in the person she is? Or observant, patient, and understanding to describe her character development and overcoming her prejudices in the beginning of the book. Elizabeth Bennet is more than just a pretty face who can make her dad laugh.

    Note #5: “The Male Protagonist: Fitzwilliam Darcy” describes him as wealthy, good looking, smart, unmarried, twenty-eight years old, imperfect, detached, self-important, and antisocial. But then also says that he becomes aware of his pride, begins to change his ways, expresses his true gentlemanliness and romantic heroism in writing and selfless gestures.That explanation does justice to Mr. Darcy’s character development and deterioration of his pride. I agree with Jessica when she said that, “they should have added… why Mr. Darcy was the way he was as an adult.” This description lacks Mr. Darcy’s true character. It excludes his caring, loving, and protective disposition towards his sister or the model of respect and honor he displays towards housing staff. Note #5 and #6 didn’t depict the characters as thoroughly and correct as I feel like it should have.

    However, Note #5 helped me realize that Mr. Darcy is my favorite character. There he was attending another dance with his ecstatic friend, Mr. Bingley, thinking that he was too good for everyone. Then Elizabeth points out how stuck up or prideful he was, and Darcy realized that his disposition towards others needed to change. He needed to live up to the man that his sister and house staff knew he was. As I read “Pride and Prejudice” I really saw Mr. Darcy’s character change for the better and I liked that about him.

  4. My favorite note from the video, Top 10 Notes: Pride and Prejudice, would be note #6. Note #6 is labeled as the female protagonist. The video states that Elizabeth is young, pretty, smart, and has a very close relationship with her dad. Though I do have to agree with Chanel when she states, “I just feel like this description doesn’t do her character enough justice.” I agree with this statement because I noticed that Elizabeth always stood up for her family, especially the oldest sister, Jane. I also noticed that Elizabeth is not afraid to stand up for herself, especially when she was talking to Lady Catherine. Elizabeth was never afraid to tell you off if she needed to. All of these traits were left out in the video. Even though the video did do a good job on the other notes, I feel like note #6 could of been better.

  5. In the video that Lindsey shared, “Top 10 Notes: Pride and Prejudice” 10 things are shared that people should know about Jane Austen’s novel. Out of the 10 notes, I think Note #7 “Plot” was the best because it gave a summarization of the novel, which is what intrigues people. As Chanel said, “It’s the basic summary that sells the book.” I think this note helps with note #3 “Modern Popularity” because once many people hear what the story is about it may be interesting to them, which will get new audiences to read the book or watch the movie. Although I picked number 7 as the top thing mentioned, I do believe many other notes are important to know.

  6. Out of all the trivia points the video mentioned in “Top 10 Notes: Pride and Prejudice,” my favorite was note #10: About the Author. Learning that Jane Austen had little formal education (what little education she did receive came from her father and brothers) was shocking. While I was reading the book, I didn’t get the impression that the author had poor writing skills. In fact, the story was beautiful and dark and real. I truly felt that I was immersed into Elizabeth Bennett’s world. This I believe could only be achieved by someone who lived similar experiences. Having been one of seven children in the 19th century, it’s clear Jane Austen was heavily inspired by her own life experiences. Still, she no doubt had plenty of imagination to write her several books. For example, from the romanticism in Pride and Prejudice, I assumed Austen had her own share of courtships yet to my surprise, I learned that Austen’s love life wasn’t as lively as those of her characters. Austen never married.

    That being said, I have an appreciation for Jane Austen. Though I haven’t read any of her other works, I have to say that my favorite character thus far is Mr. Darcy. I like him the best because of how he grew as a person. I believe that Mr. Darcy had the greatest character development since as Chanel said, “he becomes aware of his pride, begins to change his ways, expresses his true gentlemanliness and romantic heroism in writing and selfless gestures.” Instead of remaining the prideful and arrogant man most knew him to be, he changed to become a man worthy of people’s admiration and respect through his actions. In addition, I adore him because instead of remaining a stubborn man with a hurt ego, he took Elizabeth’s criticism and used it to better himself and become a person worthy of her love. If that isn’t the way to conquer a girl’s heart, I don’t know what is. *cheers for Mr. Darcy*

  7. In the video, “Top 10 Notes: Pride and Prejudice” explains some facts and trivia behind the beloved novel. Out of that whole list, I would say that Note #10 (About the Author) and Note #9 (Influences and Inspiration) are my favorite of them all since they seem to go hand in hand.

    These two notes stood out to me most simply because I have always found it fascinating how content creators such as authors, artists, musicians, etc., apply their own lives and influences and turn it into something great. The author is just as important as the story, and I liked that they gave her the recognition she deserves. Just like Citlalli V., I was also shocked to find out that most of Jane Austen’s education came from the men in the house, especially since her work is still incredibly popular today and what to me, seemed well written. Beyond the things I liked, there was nothing I really disagreed with. I also feel that they covered enough and depicted the characters correctly for a couple quick fact video about Pride and Prejudice.

    As far as the characters go, my favorite would have to be Jane, the eldest Bennet sister. Her positive outlook on all situations, good and bad, really surprised me. She was always there for Elizabeth, listening and comforting her when she needed it most. Jane just seemed like she had a good heart and when Mr. Bingley leaves, she still continued to see the positive in it and not let it ruin it her. Although her positivity was a bit excessive at times, I still admire her for seeing the best in horrible people and circumstances.

Leave a Reply

