Blog #16

Hello North House. One more week guys, we can do it. For the blog this week, I decided to share a video with all of you. It is called “The Trouble with Transporters” by CGP Grey. I chose this video because I thought that some of the ideas in the video were very interesting. I hope that you will agree with me.

Prompt: Do you agree with the ideas set out in the video? If you do explain why and if you don’t explain why you don’t. Also just let me know what you think and your reaction to the “revelations” in the video.

26 Comments

  1. This argument is more of a philosophical one than a scientific one. For the sake of the discussion, two ideas must be considered. The “Ego”, that is, the physical body, thoughts, and memories that a person currently occupies, and the “Soul”, or the core consciousness, or cognizance that fills the ego. Since the ego is ever-changing, it’s safe to say that the ego does not define who someone is. If someone loses his/her arm in an accident, that arm no longer is a part of him/her. Just like all of the cells that are shed by a person every 7 years. The flesh is simply flesh at that point. If an amnesiac loses all of his/her memories in an accident, it is still the same person, but with a completely wiped ego. Just like hair or nails, the ego is regularly discarded, and regenerated (and it continues to change post-mortem). Yet to solve the problem of what makes a person himself/herself, look no further than René Descartes’ “I think therefore I am.” As long as someone has cognizance, or a soul, that person can occupy whatever ego he/she may have. What happens when someone uses a teleporter, however? Consider this scenario: a man is cloned, that is to say, a copy of his ego is created. That copied ego, without its own soul, creates one. Then the original man is killed. What you are left with is a brand new ego, which means very little anyway, considering how often the ego is rebuilt naturally, and a brand new, synthesized soul. In teleportation, someone’s ego is destroyed and recreated somewhere else, but his/her soul dies(?) with the original ego and the new ego creates a new soul around it. However, the entire argument stands on the existence, or nonexistence, of the entity called the “soul”, so until science can determine its existence, we are only left to guess.

  2. In the video, “The Trouble with Transporters,” it focuses on the concept of consciousness within “you,” or the individual. The concept is illustrated by delineating the issues with the transporter from the film series, Star Trek.

    In accordance with Brian, the video posed intriguing opinions. At one point, the narrator stated that the process of teleportation is accomplished through disassembling and reassembling the individuals atoms. According to the University of Technology in the Netherlands, researchers were able to “teleport information encoded into sub-atomic particles between two points three meters apart with 100% reliability.” Due to this, they realized the possibility of teleporting humans in the future. Moreover, the narrator presented an argument of whether or not the post-transport individual was as conscious as the pre-transport individual. Because consciousness is immeasurable, scientists arrived to the conclusion that it is ascertained by the individual.

    The “revelations” were riveting. Although the notion of teleportation seems dull, the manner in which the descriptions were outlined proved convincing. Furthermore, the concept of “Who *is* you?” provoked excessive amounts of ponderation. Were “you” the same yesterday? Are “you” the same today? Will “you” be the same in the future?

  3. In CGP Grey’s, “The Trouble with Transporters” the video’s creators examine not only the trouble with full teleportation transportation but also the whole idea and concept of consciousness.

    One concept that stuck out the most to me was the whole idea of consciousness. The video proposed the concept that even when we sleep and when we wake, you’ll not be the same person you were when you fell asleep. However, the video brought up the point that this consciousness is not measurable. With that being the case, the whole concept of consciousness seems to be open to interpretation. I never thought about how a loss in consciousness can make someone a completely new person.

    In the case for teleporting, the video proposes the idea that teleporting like in Star Trek, there is no guarantee that once the person who is being teleported reaches their destination that they will be the same. This is through the process of changing atoms into energy then reassembling the atoms. There is no guarantee that once these atoms reassemble, that they will be the especially since the being loses consciousness during the process.

    I agree with Benji when he says that the whole concept of consciousness as described in the video is “riveting” because it is an idea that many people do not usually think about, but once the idea is proposed they begin to question their entire life.

  4. In the video “The Trouble with Transporters” youtuber CGP Grey discuss the accuracy of transporters in science fiction media; specifically Star Trek. The narrator criticizes Star Trek’s methodology of transporters breaking down users into atoms then sending them to their desired location. Labeling transporters suicide boxes, transferring atoms would mean converting them into energy before recollecting. The product being a totally different person with the same memories of the person who entered the transporter. Transport leads to a discussion on consciousness and what it implies regarding being the same person.

    The video attempts to simplify its idea of consciousness by comparing it to The Ship of Theseus. As parts worn out they were replaced. In the end the narrator poses the question “.. is the Ship of Theseus still the same Ship of Theseus.” Personally I agree with the idea and the conclusion the video draws, stating that it is not the same ship. If all the pieces are not the original then it is not the same thing per say it just has the same name. My initial reaction was a person is then unique because of their conscious, an assumption then expanded on in the video.

    Like Benjamin I was also faced with much ponderation over the concept of “Who *is* you?” The possibility that when I go to sleep and slip into unconsciousness I’m done is somewhat uncomfortable. Studying consciousness in my psychology class at Chaffey College, the professor explained many theories of consciousness, but never went in this direction. The concept of a “break in consciousness” reminds me of Freud. The theory of Psychoanalysis founded by Freud, states that a person is a product of repressed memories in the unconscious mind. If so I find possibility of conflict arising between Freud’s Psychoanalysis and the videos theory of consciousness.

  5. To begin with, I never thought transporters had that “theoretical” capability to “kill” someone or see it as “Holocaust machine” that was addressed in the video. In this video, it talks about the problems of a transporter and your conscience.

    To answer Brian’s prompt, I am now siding with the fact that teleporters are dangerous due to the reasons mentioned in the video. I think the biggest reason why I am shocked about the “facts” and theories is because I never thought that they had the ability to do these things. I know that you only see them in movies, but imagine if they were real; then there would be a lot of dead people! To think of it, Spok could of died more from teleporting to the places he needed to go, from him dying from the actual teleporter. Not only am I surprised of what the teleportation can do, but the idea of your conscience. Like Benjamin T. said, the idea of it is “riveting” because not everyone thinks of this idea (just like Chris Q said). I being philosophical. At first the video talked more about the science of teleportation, but it started to get deep and started asking questions about ourselves and us being real.

  6. Videos like, “The Trouble with Transporters” by CGP Grey are the reason I question my existence and do not sleep properly at night. The video simply explained the process of teleportation using transporters which the led to the discussion of our consciousness and if we are truly ourselves or not.

    In terms of whether I agree or not with the ideas set out, I am stuck in between. I do agree with the ideas set out and understanding how it all works, but at the same time, I feel like this is all a work of the impossible and overthinking. I understand that the whole idea of “teleportation” is fictional so there is a 50/50 chance it could become reality. Since teleporters do not exist, I see the video as a scientific explanation of effects and possibilities if it were . However, the whole “Are you the same person after you wake up?” concept is the type of question I would google at two in the morning. I feel that it is a concept that leaves it up for you to decide. So really, “who *is* you?” as the video states is for you to decide.

    As far as my reaction to all the “revelations” in the video go, everything that was brought up are all things I would never have thought about on my own so now I just feel so lost. The consciousness bit really got to me and every time I wake up now, all I am going to think is if I am myself or not. I am still indecisive of whether or not I agree, so along with Collin E. I agree with his statement of, “…Until science can determine its existence, we are only left to guess.”

  7. As Collin E. had nicely put it, there is no real definitive answer to this prompt. As the video begins with the concept of a transporter, that is teleportation, it slowly drifts to a philosophical notion of “Who *is* you?” The perception of consciousness is a worrying factor for many, but on the other hand, I could care less. As long I wake up from my slumber, all is good, no questions asked from myself. For the machine, the process used to do so is generally straightforward. As mentioned by CGP Grey, “First, the transporter scans you down to the quark, takes apart your atoms and sends the pieces of you to the destination for reassembly.” At the moment Grey simplified the methods of a transporter, the video developed into a philosophy seminar that became troublesome to comprehend. For one, I dislike theories and possibilities that take years or more to formulate and validate, such as this “consciousness” state. Facts written in stone are preferable for my taste. I desire problems with a substantiated evidence and not just some theory. Of course, I’m contradicting myself more than once to the beliefs I believe in, but like all facts, they were once philosophical aspects that were yet to be proven for one to concur. As Collin E. had composed in his statement, “… so until science can determine its existence, we are only left to guess.”

  8. In the video, “The Trouble with Transporters” the narrator is exploring the idea that breaks in consciousness result in the death of one version of yourself and create a new version of yourself, both with the same stream of consciousness. This idea is pretty mind boggling. I had to watch the video several times to wrap my head around the concepts that were explained. The video starts off with the function of the fictional device of a “transporter” from Star Trek to pondering the idea that others around us may be just robots mimicking consciousness to the question of “who *is* you”.

    I want to branch off of what Chris Q. said, “…the whole concept of consciousness seems to be open to interpretation.” I don’t know if I agree with the concepts presented in this video. According to the video, the idea of consciousness is something that is “immeasurable.” This raises the question: “How can we really know if we truly retain the same stream of consciousness when we go from one state to another (awake to sleep, before and after surgery, etc.)?” But just the opposite can be said too. How can we know if our consciousness actually has changed since our transition from state to state? What if it’s the same? This argument just leads to the other big revelation in the video, “Who *is* you?” What aspects of you make you, you? There are an endless number of answers to this question.

    The idea of a new “soul”, as Colin put it, is an idea that I’m somewhat open to. I took a psychology class this past semester and my professor discussed a mental disorder called Dissociative Personality Disorder. A person diagnosed with this disorder has multiple “people”, or “souls” we can call them, dwelling in their mind. For certain periods of time they are one person and live their lives as if they really are that person. Then some type of switch goes off in their brain, it could be falling asleep or being put in a stressful situation, and they switch into a different person. All the “people” in this person’s brain are completely unaware that the other “people” exist. The original person usually isn’t aware that they have this disorder unless the other “people” leave behind clues. This disorder is something that exists and actually happens to people. So I find the idea that breaks of consciousness can create different “new souls” or “new people” sort of plausible. But I also just took a nap and I find it hard to believe that I might not be entirely the same person as I was now that I’ve waken up. There’s a song lyric that goes, “Baby, seasons change but people don’t.” And I think I trust Fall Out Boy more than some fictional Star Trek technology saying that I’m not the same person I’ve always been.

  9. You know, when I was a young boy I used to think of these sorts of concepts all the time; issues surrounding consciousness, sense of self and identity. For instance, one question that constantly plagued my thoughts on the long car rides home was one that I think most people have debated in their heads at some point. The question of “If my father never met my mother and had a child, would that child have the same thoughts as I am? Is it possible that in another parallel universe they could be thinking the same question at the same time?” My younger self may not have had an answer to that question, and he would perhaps be very upset to find out that a decade later I still have no clue.

    I wish I could assault a verbal campaign on whether the ideas presented in this video are outright foolish or wrong, but no matter which answer I gave It would likely be wrong no matter what. Reason being, just like Colin says, “This argument is more of a philosophical one than a scientific one.” It’s the reason I still don’t have an answer for my younger self, and its likely the reason no one will ever have an answer.

    Its similar to how philosophers used to argue how many angels could dance upon a needle head. So ultimately, I think the ideas presented in this video are both unsolvable and slightly superfluous.

  10. I agree with the ideas presented in the video; at first the whole thing seemed untrue and impossible, but as he continued I became convinced and was able to wrap my mind around the idea. What caught my eye in the comments was what Christopher said, “the whole concept of consciousness seems to be open to interpretation. I never thought about how a loss in consciousness can make someone a completely new person.” This reminded me of what my psychology professor said about when you remember a past event, you’re actually remembering the last time you remembered it, not the event itself. Since our memories gradually change and our memories are what make us people then, our current conscious self is just a new version of what we once were just like the Ship of Theseus.
    The “revelations” in the video really make me wonder if we are truly real and if everything is just a figment of our imagination.

  11. According to the video, “Trouble with Transporters,” a transporter is a suicide box which transports and alters electrons. It makes us think about the problem of human consciousness. The narrator develops his ideas by concluding that our general consciousness can be altered just by doing simple things such as sleeping or taking part in a surgery.

    I agree but at the same time I disagree with the ideas set forth in this video. Topics like consciousness are ideas which philosophers have been rattling their brain around since the beginning of time, which is why I agree with Colin E. statement, “this argument is more of a philosophical one than a scientific one.” The philosophy of self discusses whether or not an individual’s awareness, memories, or another perception defines a person. Sleeping is a natural survival mechanism which relaxes the human body. Whether or not we wake up, what happens during the period of time our eyes are closed? Are we the same people once we wake up from our unconsciousness? Some people wake up and they recall these vivid memories and some people just wake up. Are those dreams real or a fabrication of an alternate reality? Do we wake up to a different body with the same memories or are we in a never-ending dream state? The answer is, we may never know.

    In regards to the “revelations” of this video, I have thought about the ideas in one point of my life or another. It was good to get another perspective on it and seeing the animation which coincide with the idea was entertaining.

  12. This video is yet one of the most interesting videos. When first watching this video, it seemed like a crazy assumption. After watching the video, I have to say that the video makes since. The example in the video, ” The Ship of Theseus” is the best way to explain. It talks about how if one person travels from one place to another, our atoms are taken apart and then assembled back together. What “The Ship of Theseus” is saying, is that when your atoms were taken apart, what if it assembled with “new” atoms. Is that person still you or is it a “different” person with the same memories. I agree with maryela when she said ” when you remember a past event, you’re actually remembering the last time you remembered it, not the event itself.” I agree with this because it supports to what I am saying.

  13. I do agree with what the video says. The speaker at one point talks about how the machine that “transports” you is faulty and that it only takes your atoms and sends them to your destination but it’s not really you, it’s only a you that thinks it’s you. Complicated but understandable. I don’t think it sounds as magical as it seems but I do think that you wouldn’t be the same person. Something is bound to go wrong. The video made me think about all those movies that have used teleporters and how impossible it would be for it to work. Maybe in the future when science advances our technology and is able to get us from one place to another without killing us or changing us, we could finally be able to say it’s real and actually possible.

    I agree with Chris when he said,” … the whole concept of consciousness seems to be open to interpretation. I never thought about how a loss in consciousness can make someone a completely new person.” I don’t think people think it’s that big of a deal. If this were to truly happen, a couple of atoms would be added or taken out and all those atoms that make you, you are now gone and it’s no longer you anymore and just the same when adding them in. And who knows, what it one day two people want to teleport somewhere at the same time and end up mixing each other up? Would you become the other person or would you be a mixture of both yourself and themselves?

  14. In the video Brian shared with us titled “The Trouble with Transporters,” the issues regarding teleportation are discussed as well as the idea and concept of consciousness. In the beginning of the video, YouTuber CGP Grey focused primarily on the way a transporter or a teleporter works and some theories regarding it. To be honest I have really no interest or knowledge regarding such things so initially I was bored with the video and agreed with the idea that the machine is dangerous. As the video continued however, the theories and facts of how the machine would work interested me slightly because of how it related to the possible science behind a science fiction concept. Towards the end of the video the focus switched from facts to a much more thoughtful, deep aspect regarding consciousness. The idea that I am not really myself when I wake up was quite interesting and new to me so I was basically questioning my existence while watching this video. But in the end like Maryela had stated, “The “revelations” in the video really make me wonder if we are truly real and if everything is just a figment of our imagination.”

  15. Before starting the construction of my blog, I felt it best to look over everyone else’s response first. With consciousness being such an obscure topic, it is impossible to come up with a definitive answer that would please everyone. The incorporation of science and philosophy further complicates the question of “who *is* you” in this transporter example. On a scientific standpoint, the idea of multiple “YOU’s” constantly being created over and over again after breaks in consciousness are, as Romel states “both unsolvable and slightly superfluous.” With consciousness being an unmeasurable factor, the possibility of determining what is credible through scientific evidence is slim. In contrast, the philosophical aspect relies on interpretation and perspective. It focuses on the idea that “you can only really know that you are conscious.” The question is left for us to decide. Personally, I feel more drawn to philosophical concept that we can only know if we are real. Science can be debating and hypothesizing for years, but will never come up with a truly satisfying answer to the question of “who *is* you.” There are just too many unknowns. As long as “I” believe that own consciousness is safe from any reaper, then I think I should be able to sleep well tonight.

  16. Props to Brian on the video choice since it is a very relevant fictional idea that pertains to space travel. Seeing as most video games have some sort of teleportation device now it does debunk the question, “Are we still our original conscious selves?”, and any gamer or comic book enthusiast would know that we technically are just a replica(in game at least) when we are transported/teleported. This video just happened to reinforce the general idea that I already had. I was actually not surprised when they mentioned the recreation of a person at their destination, but I was a little against the idea of our own beds being compared to the Transporter. I don’t think that my consciousness is reset or paused every time I go to bed. The idea feels a little too extreme, but I agree with Chris when he says “the idea is open to interpretation.” regarding consciousness.

  17. In the video titled “The Trouble with Transporters” by CGP Grey, he talks about the different concepts in regards to weather or not you stay the same person post teleportation. In my opinion I believe this is too much of a broad idea to go off of. There is not enough research done that can support weather or not we are actually us post travel. The concept of our atoms being pulled apart and sent to the destination to be put back together makes me think that so many things can go wrong. That as stated in the video the you post transport could be an entirely different you, but with the same memories. In regards to the consciousness concept I remember one time in Piggott’s class he explained to us a scenario just like the one in the video about Ship of Theseus. Piggott explained to us that say he had a bike, but as Piggott grew older and continued to use the bike more it also got older. The older the bike got Piggott would have to continue replacing parts of the bike, until eventually all the parts of the bike were replaced. Piggott then proposed the question “Is it the same bike I began with?”. I believe it is not the same bike he began with, since all the parts are entirely new. This is why I completely agree with Nick C. when he says “If all the pieces are not the original then it is not the same thing per say it just has the same name.” The video then brings up the question “When I wake up tomorrow will I be the same me I was when I fell asleep?” This part of the video really gets me thinking about “Who am I?”, which is a question too broad for me to answer at the moment until further research is done.

  18. The video that Brian shared, “The Trouble with Transporters” is about how the Transporter actually works. The YouTuber CGP Grey mentions how in the movie Star Trek, a transporter is used as a form of transportation because it is very safe, but in reality it is very dangerous. He says mentions several things that can go wrong by using a transporter, and goes into to detail about them. I do agree with the ideas being set out in the video because the narrator goes into detail, and as Kenny said, “I have to say that the video makes sense.”
    The “revelations” in the video were very surprising, because I’ve only seen a few movies where a transporter and I had never thought much of it, other than the fact that it looked cool. I used to think that it was the coolest thing to transport like that, but now that I have watched the video I realize how dangerous it would actually be.

  19. The short video entitled, “The Trouble With Transporters” discusses the problems of using transporters from the Star Trek film series, and the concept of consciousness. The narrator explained that a transporter is a machine that can use teleportation as a form of transportation by disassembling, and reassembling atoms. When this happens one version of yourself would die, and the other would reappear with the same memories. The narrator explained that this would explain the break within your consciousness when you transport. For this reason, the narrator goes on to call the transporter a “suicide box”, and the “silent Holocaust”.

    I am uncertain if I agree with the ideas set out in this video because, transporters have yet to be invented. However, if transporters actually existed I would be a bit skeptical to use it. Jaydalynn states, “Since teleporters do not exist, I see the video as a scientific explanation of effects and possibilities if it were.” I agree with Jaydalynn because, this video was just assumptions based on non-existent technology. I did not have that much of a reaction from the “revelations” in this video. I feel the same as Alexis when she states, “There are just too many unknowns. As long as “I” believe that own consciousness is safe from any reaper, then I think I should be able to sleep well tonight.”

  20. I feel like this is too psychological and it is a hard topic to understand since everyone has their own opinions. But in my part, I do agree to some of the ideas that were set out during the video. It just explained if the you who got teleported was the actual you or a you that has memories of you and the real you is dead. It all has to do with the conscious and right now we don’t even know what exactly a conscious is. We might think the us that got teleported might be us, but how the video stated, “ The results may be the same, but the original parts were replaced at different times.” Like Nicholas Caro said, “The video attempts to simplify its idea of consciousness by comparing it to The Ship of Theseus.” It was first about the process of teleporting, but it slowly started to shift into the mind. My reaction of the video was me being amazed. I would not think of anything this way because it is just too psychological. I would not normally think about these kind of things. So this video was very unexpected. The video made me think of stuff and it was just deep. It is just breathtaking.

  21. The video, “The Trouble with Transporters,” posed many questions of consciousness like in Star Trek’s transporters, if they are massive holocaust machines or if we are the same people as when we fell asleep.

    Firstly, Star Trek is science fiction and nobody has made a transporter before so I can argue that this question is invalid since no conclusion can be made and currently is impossible and end my argument there. But there is a second valid point in the video that is made about something that is imminent in society everyday which is surgeries and especially dreams. We have to sleep everyday to survive so posing the question that our sleep, or break in consciousness, changes us so that we are not the same person when we wake up is an interesting point. Even though we are unconscious, we still dream multiple dreams a night that is fluid even if we don’t remember it and it’s not like our atoms are taken apart then reassembled every night. Scientists and doctors study patients with sleep problems all the time and there is always a fluid sign of brain activity. So assuming that collecting brain activity data from 100% of their patients from simple overnight tests is true for everyone and there is always brain activity then we can assume that we are the same people as to when we fell asleep. The Star Trek transporter disassembles all your atoms so you are technically not conscious or alive and there is no brain activity, but when you sleep the brain activity never ceases, so therefore you are the same you that fell asleep. I agree with Chanel when she quoted Fall Out Boy and said, “‘Baby, seasons change but people don’t.’ And I think I trust Fall Out Boy more than some fictional Star Trek technology saying that I’m not the same person I’ve always been.”

  22. The short video, “Trouble with Transporters”, goes into the process of explaining transportation and it effect it has on human consciousness. The concepts and ideas in the video were easy to grasp, but it’s difficult to choose a side since the arguments made in the video are mainly based off of theory and philosophy. The video however did a great job at clarifying concepts in the video by including, “The Ship of Theseus” and “The Cutty Sark” This really made the video easy to understand.

    The “breaks” in consciousness really got me thinking, whenever someone is asleep or going into surgery, are they going to wake up as the same person they were before? Like Maryela said,” The “revelations” in the video really make me wonder if we are truly real and if everything is just a figment of our imagination.”

  23. In response to the video by CGP Grey entitled, “The Trouble with Transporters” I cannot say that I fully agree or disagree with the claims of consciousness being made. I say this because the concept of teleportation is based off of scenes in science fiction movies, and is not something that is currently available to us. The video refers to the transporter as a “suicide box” because essentially what it is doing is disassembling the atoms that make up the human being and then reassembling them at a different location; the problem with this concept is that the state of consciousness is being halted, and that the human being is essentially an entirely different being afterwards. However, being that it is scientifically impossible to teleport human beings in the real world, I cannot say that this is true or not because there has to be more research done.

    I acknowledge that the video does also make the point that sleep is another means of loss of consciousness, but I do not think that when I wake up in the morning I am a different being with different thoughts and motivations. Just as Lindsey mentioned in her blog post, “The Star Trek transporter disassembles all your atoms so you are technically not conscious or alive and there is no brain activity, but when you sleep the brain activity never ceases, so therefore you are the same you that fell asleep.” Although my consciousness had been halted for a few hours, I am not convinced by the claim that the video made about being a completely different being (at least consciously) after a night’s rest.

    Frankly, the revelations made in this video did not impress or persuade me because the argument being made was based off a science fiction story.

  24. I was never a Star Trek fan so at first, I had no idea what the video was about. Then the teleporter was explained which is something I actually never sat down and thought about before how it works. This video brought up some amazing ideas and truthfully if a teleporter did exist I would be too terrified now to try it because what if they are suicide boxes where one person goes in and another comes out. Kevin Brought up a fair point when he said, ” I don’t think that my consciousness is reset or paused every time I go to bed.” Obviously not that is we have dreams we are still aware and thinking our body is at rest but our mind goes on. The video also brought up the idea of souls but brushed it off because they were sticking strictly to the science behind teleporters. Personally, I believe every person has a soul and if a teleporter were to be invented how could our souls, our very beings also get broken down and rebuilt. That’s a question that will stick with me long after this post goes up and as our technology continues to grow.

  25. In the video, “The Trouble with Transporters” it introduces us by talking about the transporter from Star Trek talking about how it works and then leads us to death which is a suicide box. The video then asks you “Who is you?” The video is basically explaining if we are the same person before the teleportation. I agree with the video when the narrator explains the boat when it gets burned down and then it is rebuilt and the question is then asked is it the same boat, even if it still has the exact same parts just the timing is different. It is interesting thinking about consciousness because the person in the video is saying that when we sleep is it really us that wakes up because our bed that we sleep in at night could be a transporter when we slip into unconsciousness and we really don’t know if it is you when you wake up. I agree with some parts of the video but I believe that our consciousness will never be able to change every time I go to into surgery or go to bed. The “revelations” I agree with Benjamin as he stated, “The “revelations” is riveting” everyone doesn’t really think of this idea talked about in the video never thought that teleportation could be able to do this to your consciousness.

  26. I find this blog incredibly amusing, I have actually seen this video before and have come up with my own theory. In response to Brian’s prompt, I disagree with this video. I believe our ‘soul’ consists of the the constant electrical currents that exists within our brains and our bodies.. And when our soul (electrical current) completely leaves our body we are dead. The reason I believe our soul is the equivalent to an electrical current is because you can pull your soul back into your body with another electrical current (defibrillator). Theoretically transportation by reassembly of atoms should work, as long as this current is preserved and our atoms are put back exactly the way it was before. Preserving an electric current is much easier than preserving a philosophical soul, still almost impossible though haha.

    I also find it amusing when Josh says, “..you only see them in movies, but imagine if they were real” No disrespect Josh, this has occurred hundreds of time throughout movie history. The Sci-fi genre continuously proves to become Sci-non-fi through the test of time. Humanity can achieve anything it imagines, the only thing that limits us is time. As we all know.. Time is relevant, at the rate we are currently pacing the technology that we will come to know in the next century will blow our little present minds. If we push another several centuries it will continue to stupefy us, unless we all nuke each other out of existence of course. But as it has been proven, time is relevant.. unless we learn how to successfully upload ourselves into a database we will inevitably and eventually be faced with our mortality. Sadly we won’t be able to see a Dyson Sphere. 😦

Leave a Reply

